We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Shopping Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Perfect Shopping Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got back from Traverse City and stayed over a nite at the Courtyard by Marriot. We were very pleased with our choice. The room was clean and spacious with a balcony. Actually noticed the artwork in the room this time. We didn't use either but I believe there was a fridge and a safe included.

The hotel has a small workout area and a pool. My only criticism was the moldings in the pool area could use a touch up but other than that it was clean. Outside the pool area there was a small courtyard but being November we did not utilize this area. The lobby was decorated with contempary furnishings and also included a small store that also sold beer and local wines. I am not a big fan of the area wines and couldn't even finish my glass of red that we had purchased. The lobby shares its seating with the Bistro Restaurant at the other end. The Bistro menu was impressive as it had many healthy alternatives and served fresh fruit, a nice touch. It also serves Starbucks coffee and teas.

The location of this hotel is perfect for shopping as it is just across the street from Best Buy and Kohl's and the Grand Traverse Mall are close by. Just keep in mind, Traverse City is not the best place for street and direction signs, so bring a map to get your bearings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. You are right we are in a prime location for shopping. We are very busy for back to school and holiday shopping. We had lots of fun with our Black Friday Shoppers last night and today. People coming and going all night, bags in hand. The Starbuck coffee machine was working overtime. We hope to see you again soon.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
32
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very well managed property that is just outside of town, but an easy drive to all Traverse City has to offer. They did allow early check in even during a very busy event. The restaurant offers a diverse menu and cocktails, plus good breakfast options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you are so pleased. We hope to welcome you again soon. Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here this past weekend for a wine event in Leelanau Peninsula and the accomodations were wonderful. Bed was so comfortable. Best nights sleep in a hotel ever. Very quiet. Very clean. All staff encountered were very friendly and helpful. This was the not the first time we have stayed at this hotel and will continue to stay here. Always have great accomodations with no surprises. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hello and thank you for staying with us again. I will share your kind words with our staff.
Just to do a little bragging, our hotel is current ranked #48 out of 835 Courtyard hotels in Overall Guest Satisfaction for 2012. It is our goal to be in the top 25 at year end.

We hope you stay with us again soon.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is one of my favorites in the state for business - the hotel/rooms are clean, updated, nicely equipped, large and the market and bistro offer really good food! There's a bar and banquettes with their own tv's as well as a large living area on the main floor. The prices are OK in the fall/winter/spring but seem to go up considerably in the summer as do all the hotel prices in the area. The "summer" is so short here I wouldn't complain about the seasonal pricing. So if the price is right and you don't need/want to be in town this hotel is wonderful.

Room Tip: Kings can be smallish but the doubles are nice sized. No real view so front or back probably doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and offering your kind words. I will share your comments with our staff. We are very proud to be ranked in the top .07% in the Courtyard brand in the area of guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here to see the "color" of the fall. Being a Platium Rewards member I stay an a lot of Marriott properties all over the country and this property is what I have come to expect. Clean, newly remodeled, and a great staff. The pool and hot tub was clean and plenty of towels. The new format of the Comfort Inn "Bistro" was good. Had the morning Scramble, eggs, sausage patties, potatoes, and toast. Very good, price was a little high at $9.99. Starbucks coffee was nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very modern hotel and clean. I had a nice stay here. The location is not downtown TC, but the location does have some restaurants nearby, and it is easy to head north to M-22 to head up the Leelanau Peninsula. Rooms in the back of the hotel have a nice view of a patio backed up to a small wooded area that looks great during the fall leaf color changes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Looking for a weekend stay in Traverse City I was stunned at their lack of updated/modern hotels. I stumbled onto the Courtyard's website and was happy with what I saw. New amenities, Starbucks coffee and great rooms. If you are used to modern conveniences, this is your place. Very quiet...very nice. They only bummer is that they are about 10 minutes from downtown/beach. Other than that a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello and thanks for staying with us. Our past renovation and Marriott's reinvention of the Courtyard brand has really gone over well. I hear the words "inviting" and "comfortable" most often. We were the first Courtyard in Michigan to be completed. We hope to see you again soon. Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Address: 3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
Traverse City Marriott
Traverse City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.