We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Category 5 Marriott??? Not on your life!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Category 5 Marriott??? Not on your life!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed (5) nights during my daughter's hockey camp in Traverse City July 16-20. I am a Marriott elite member and got my complimentary upgraded room, complete w/ balcony. First the good: Um......came with a refridgerator....the water worked.....OH and the air conditioning....it was cold. The rest? ANTS ANTS ANTS ANTS ANTS ANTS ANTS! Did I mention ANTS? All over that room..on the beds...on the night table.....on the curtains....on the windows....coming from behind the dresser, everywhere! This was BEFORE we even brought our stuff in the room! They sprayed the first day, didn't help. My suggestion was to close off the balcony, seal around the door, and that should solve the problem. Who needs a balcony anyway? And the stains on the carpeting look like they've been there for a while. All this made me very hesitant on using the coffee maker & unwrapped mugs on the vanity.

The pool had an interesting film floating on the top that seemed to "fold" instead of "ripple" when water was disturbed in it. Looked pretty gross.

The female front desk staff could care less about your needs, requests, suggestions, etc. Oh they'll write it down, but the amount of apathy they show in their blank stares is a bit more than I'm used to. The gentleman who helped us with directions to Sleeping Bear Dunes was the opposite. Very helpful, but was only there for a couple days during our stay.

Lobby was nice, the latest modern design for Courtyards these days. But above all, here's my biggest issue.

I've resigned myself to the fact that Marriott uses popularity to rate their hotels in categories to determine how many points per night they "charge" for their rooms. To put it in perspective, the Downtown Chicago full service Marriott on Michigan Avenue is a Category 6, or 30,000 points per night....in a 35+ story hotel (recently renovated) with all the amenities. Marriott rates this 3-story, carpet stained, ant infested with a film covered pool (oh, and no complimentary breakfast-typical of Courtyards however) a Category 5 (or 25,000 points per night). So wrong. They rated the Fairfield (which is supposedly the "budget" of the Marriott line-though offers breakfast) in TC the same amount. Something's wrong here and this policy needs to be adjusted for hotel cleanliness, secret shoppers, audits from parent company, something other than popularity of a hotel in a town that is clearly lacking for hotel rooms and proper accommodations (very few chain hotels in area as I discovered).

Room Tip: Room 320-skip it if this is what they give you. Sleep in the car, it's probably more sanitary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    46
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
33
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel was very nice and location was okay next to a shopping center. It was convenient to locate, however not as convenient to the activities in Traverse City. The hotel was more pricey than I felt it deserved. I paid less for better location and nicer rooms. The automatic front door was under our room, so made noise anytime some went through it. I bother some of the family thoughout the night. The view out the window was to the back of canopy, so absolute no view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is hotel is slightly off the main drag into Traverse City and backs onto some nice wooded views. The lobby seatig area is large and pristine and the hotel is very well kept up. The room design is poor with respect to a very small sink area with the mirrored closet right behind it so only one person can use any of the washroom facilities at one time to brush teeth apply make up dry hair etc. The towels were pretty thin for the caliber of hotel and the shower was intermittently operating. The bedding was very nice. Has a nice pool and 24 hour fitness facility.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Unity, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great service, good rooms and good food in the Bistro. Many rooms have a patio or balcony. The pool and spa were relaxing.. Nice patio with a fire pit.The only negative would be if you want to be near the waterfront or downtown. Those are about 3 miles away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard because we ended up arriving a day early in Traverse City, and our lake-front hotel didn't have a room available. The Courtyard is exactly what you'd expect from a Courtyard -- I do lots of business travel and stay at Courtyards all over the country. Clean, comfortable, very friendly staff -- all good. My suggestion, however, is that if you are going to Traverse City on vacation, you'll want to be in one of the lake-front hotels and closer to the downtown shopping/eating area -- there are many and the price ranges are wide (many rooms on the lake were less expensive than at the Courtyard). Again, the Courtyard is exactly as advertised, and a solid value if you are in Traverse on business.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I'm pretty amazed at this property as far as location, size of the room and interior ambiance. Its probably one of the cleanest, nicely decorated and colorful hotel's i've stayed at this entire year. Again, to keep it short and to the point:

Location- about 2 miles from Downtown Traverse City. You can actually see the lake off in a distance from the hotel (3rd floor). Best Buy across the street and a Shell Gas Station which also has Diesel (Low Sulfur).

Pros: Larger Rooms, Location, Cleanliness, Polite Staff, New Hotel Feeling, Colorful, Comfortable Beds, Pull out Desk, Flat Screen TV with HDMI and multiple outputs, power sockets next to beds on headboard lamps. Internet Speed according to SpeedTest.net is Download: 4.54 mbps and Upload: 0.74 mbps.

Cons: Soap bars not as nice as other hotels (Neutrogena)... yes, i know ,..its being picky, but it matters to some people, so I mentioned it :)

Overall: you will NOT be disappointed. For the price its well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This Courtyard is near the "mall" on the outskirts of town but is a great place to stay if you have car and don't mind driving. It's updated, rooms are well-equipped with flat-screen tv's (always a good sign) and there's a Bistro in the lobby with very cool booths (each has it's own tv), basic food and drinks. If you are familiar with and like the Courtyard brand you'll love this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with double beds seem to be larger than kings. in you get in late ask for an upgrade to a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City

Address: 3615 S Airport Rd W, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
Traverse City Marriott
Traverse City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.