We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming home, fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
244 E. 8th Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Charming home, fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We journeyed back to my college town for the Cherry Bomb LAX tourney last July. The Oviatte House is a very charming home and is practically downtown TC! Franny and her husband were delightful innkeeper's and we enjoyed our 3 night stay immensely! Breakfasts were scrumptious, served family style. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We returned to the city of my misspent youth (college) for the Cherry Bomb LAX tourney. The locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This location is perfect for strolling along the river into downtown. Franny is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfasts were good, with lots of organic and local food, which we deeply appreciate. There were plenty of vegan and vegetarian options and Franny often left snacks out in the evening. The decor style is antique but that does not mean that functionality should be sacrificed. Our bed jiggled and crackled like crazy and was VERY high, difficult for someone with mobility issues (think vaulting into bed). Oviatt is located on a busy street, which fortunately quieted at night, but there is lots of traffic noise until 7 pm and the windows are original and not very soundproof. There are no side tables by the bed, and otherwise very small flat surfaces to place glasses, toiletries, etc. The rooms are crowded by the sizes of the beds, so you may find yourself squeezing by one another. Franny is clearly working on the house, so things may change in the future. Right now, I would recommend a room at the back (not Lewis or Waldo) and the second floor--the first floor room opens onto the common area.

Room Tip: Back and second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardener44, Owner at Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I thank you for your comments about the canopy bed. I have taken some action to correct the details outlined in your observations. Actually you are the only guest that had slept in the Lewis room with the higher mattress. I had just tried out a new mattress there in September, but obviously it seemed too high for my guests, and I follow your lead to make additional changes.
We have just installed 2 new pillowtop mattresses in the Lewis room and in the Pierpont room. So now the Lewis room does have a lower bed height (36"), with a new mattress.
We are designing new drapes for all our front rooms to assist in creating quiet rooms for sleeping. I hope you come again to see our changes and try one of our other rooms as well.
There are so many great features about our B & B - proximity to downtown, walking distance to great restaurants, the house is very cozy, and we concentrate on great organic and healthful breakfasts. I am confident that you will be pleased when you come again. Your comments have helped me zone in on some details, to make it even better, so I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This B&B is within walking distance to SO many things downtown...all the restaurants, bars, walking trails, water, beaches, etc that you would want and it makes the trip that much easier to plan knowing you can easily walk to anything you find to do in downtown Traverse City. The house is charming and Franny is so sweet (and cooked some AMAZING breakfasts!).

We had an event early on one of the mornings and she was nice enough to accommodate us by making breakfast 30 minutes earlier than she normally does (which I think is from 8:00-9:30) and had 2 blends of hot coffee waiting for us as soon as we walked downstairs. After we ate, she even wrapped up some of the goodies for us to take with us for our day!

Sharing a bathroom wasnt a problem at all and shouldnt be a reason to deter you if you are nervous about that aspect. The decor is what it is and is accurately depicted on the website. Not our style, but is clean and comfortable and has a certain charm that you would expect from a B&B. Franny also has some local wines and beers in a fridge downstairs by the front door and makes you feel welcome by offering you to help yourself at any time to those items as well as setting out a little afternoon snack each day. Also, helpful "To Do" binders filled with all the local attractions, directions, winery information, tours, etc and Franny is more than helpful with suggestions if you need some help with how to fill your day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband, our friends and I were looking forward to our week end away from the kids to enjoy some adult time. Right upon arrival Franny made us feel like we were her own kids. Such a warm inviting place, full of antics and charactere, just like a B&B should feel like. Franny is one of the nicest person we ever met and she made sure we felt confortable. The rooms very very cute and since we were the only guests, we had each our own bathrooms. Also available in each room is a set of key so we can come and go without bothering anyone. The house is at walking distance from the town main street where we enjoyed every second. In the morning, the most amazing breakfast was awaiting us. Being French I am very picky and hate the tipycal continental breakfast with the same old greesy food. We were served like kings, french pastries such as Pains au chocolat and Croissants fresh from the local bakery (it felt like I was back home in France) home made waffles, bread, fruits, yogurts, omelettes, coffee, jams, all locally made! Franny will keep you company without imposing on your private conversation. Great company, very nice cosy place, will definitly be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed here for one night. It was a great experience. The B&B is within walking distance of just about everything in the downtown, as well as some lovely trails, and the house itself is charming, comfortable, and above all, CLEAN! We stayed in the Grose Room, which has its own private bath and a private entrance, as well. Our daughter is 6 months-old, and we wrote to the owners before booking a room to see whether they allowed infants. They were very accommodating, and someone even offered to look after our baby so both my husband and I could enjoy our breakfast in peace!

The breakfast was truly delicious--fresh eggs from a local farmer, just-baked muffins, granola, yogurt, and more. Ken, one of the owners, was there (the other owner was out of town), and he was very welcoming and had a wealth of knowledge about the area; my husband and I greatly enjoyed talking to him. The entire experience couldn't have been nicer, and I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Traverse City!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivet, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A group of us stayed the beginning of June. The B&B was AWESOME!!! Franny was delightful and very helpful in suggesting attractions to see in the area. The breakfast was outta this world; it was organic and homemade and adjusted for those had preferences. The price was so low...I felt as I only paid for breakfast and the Bed was free. We did a wine tour on Sat. and Franny made accommodations for a knowledgeable driver to take us to the wineries. We are planning on making this a yearly girls outing. I would highly recommend staying here versus any hotel! THANKS FRANNY!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Most amazing B&B breakfast every had. All organic food. Super friendly, clean and welcoming atmosphere. Cold beverages left for us in the fridge. Felt like home but better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 244 E. 8th Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;