We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan on skipping lunch...you'll still be full” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast
244 E. 8th Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Plan on skipping lunch...you'll still be full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Oviatt house is a huge old home with clean and comfortable accommodations, a super friendly hostess, a delicious homemade breakfast and everything is within a 10 minute walk! Like many B&B's I've stayed at the house could still use some cosmetic updates and detail paint but it was very clean. The owner leaves out snacks and drinks and encourages you to enjoy their small but well groomed lawn. There was no TV in our room but we did have a small private bath. The only downside was that they accommodated another guest who requested an especially early breakfast and then enjoyed it loudly with full conversation in the dining room right outside our room.

When I did get up around 8:30, I really enjoyed the breakfast! There were tons of choices on the table (from organic, grass fed yogurt to several kinds of locally made butter and pastries) and the main dish was served individually as guests arrived at the table. No little boxes of cereal like I have seen elsewhere! The house is not a stunner but it is nice, cozy and clean. Appropriatly priced. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a cute house very close to Front St, walking/biking paths and food. The inn keeper is extremely friendly and helpful; she wants to make your stay as good as it can be. The food was wonderful and mostly organic/local. My only complaint was the room. The one we were in (the smallest room) faced 8th street and was a bit loud with cars driving by. If you are used to this background noise then you will have no problem. If you are not used to street noise, I would recommend getting one of the rooms towards the back of the house. Late risers beware: the room with the private bath on the first floor is right next to the dining room. It is a great room for early birds or those that can sleep through anything. Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend it for anyone that wants to meet people and feel like they are a guest in someone's home. Those that just want a place to sleep would do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

What a great place to be able to walk to town, bike around Boardman Lake, or just sit with a book or glass of wine or cup of coffee in the charming setting of 19th century antiques. Wifi makes it easy to carry on business as needed too.

Room Tip: If you like canopy or sleigh beds, choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My fiancee and I are glad we chose this B&B for our one night in Traverse City. The thing we enjoyed most was that it was within walking distance of several excellent restaurants (Amical, Phil's, The Cooks House, Firefly, and Poppycocks) and a few breweries (Right Brain Brewery, Mackinaw Brewing Company, and North Peak). The complementary local wine and excellent organic/natural breakfast were a real treat, the natural soaps were very gentle, and the bed and pillows were very comfy. Franny was very kind and accommodating. Sadly we didn't have time to take advantage of the bicycles or to walk along the river walk. All in all we were extremely pleased with our experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 244 E. 8th Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast is located near the picture perfect downtown area of Traverse City. A full breakfast of organic and locally grown foods, a garden deck for morning coffee if you wish; beautiful early American antiques in comfortable bedrooms. Across the street, walk along the Boardman River walkway directly to the downtown area and its famous food venues. A 10 minute drive takes you to the wineries of Mission Peninsula. A perfect central location for visiting the Grand Traverse Bay Area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oviatt House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list