We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slabtown Cafe and Burgers

Slabtown Cafe and Burgers
826 West Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
231-932-1760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, MI.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Burger Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Just stopped in to have a burger before heading home. Good food and a nice atmosphere. I enjoyed the burgers and fries. Will stop again. They do provide glutted free buns.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Glad We Stopped In!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We read about this place in Traverse Magazine and decided to try it. Glad we did! But it's nestled back in the middle of a residential area, so we might not have found it otherwise!

The setting is very cute - it is in a house in a neighborhood. There is indoor and outdoor seating and the food was yummy!

There is a large selection of the kind of burgers you can get, and all items are al a carte - french fries, onion rings, etc. They had a soup bar, too!

The burgers were really tender and tasty. It was a bit pricey, but we still enjoyed it and would recommend it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newaygo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My favorite quick place for something to eat in TC. Never disappoints, huge menu, great prices and and food is fantastic. They even have specialty pop instead of coke or pepsi. I don't eat fries but I make an exception when I go here. Even some healthier grilled chicken options. Can't miss for lunch or dinner. Wish they had beer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reliably superb burgers! Best fries in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is my favorite greasy bag burger joint! My favorite is the Slabtown special, which has a delicious sauce...I mean, finger-sucking, ask-for-a-gallon delicious. When you order med. rare, you get it, every time. The cafe emphasizes Traverse City history, like the first person to own a car, and is decorated with cool old photos and maps. You'll learn why this small neighborhood is called Slabtown, and enjoy a great burger at the same time. Downside? This is a bit pricey, so maybe not the best value for a whole family, and young ones won't care about the history!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Dumpy little place--needs to have better food to be this down in the heels. Fast service. Mediocre onion rings.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slabtown Cafe and Burgers also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Slabtown Cafe and Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slabtown Cafe and Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.