We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but not a resort and not worth the money they charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Haus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Haus Resort to your Saves list
Beach Haus Resort
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1489 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Berkley, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“Fine, but not a resort and not worth the money they charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is basically a hotel on the beach and that is all...There are some cool things, like the location, the beach and patios right outside the room looking over the water, but I would not in any way call this a resort. There is no bar, no restaurant, no pool so I wonder where the resort is?? They charged a lot per night for no perks at all. I didn;t hate anything about it, I just think it is sort of false advertising. I would stay there again for a night, but I would never spend a vacation there. I also agree with the other person on here about the family reunion! They took up the pretty much the whole "yard" outside of the rooms.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, you will want to get a room on the water or it is a total waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you and your extended family want to hang out together on the beach, play cards, and watch the toddlers play -- the Beach Haus is for you. As a couple, however, we were not as enchanted as others. The rooms are definitely dated altho clean; the A/C sounded like a B52. And, if the family reunion out on the lawn is NOT your family -- they are a little too close for comfort.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the water. I'd try to get an end room if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great location on nice sandy beach. You can carry your continental breakfast outside and eat at picnic tables. The property is a little dated but service was friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and there is free wi-fi. Only minor complaint is that it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit for breakfast like bananas or apples. We are thinking of returning to rent the Penthaus with family.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms face the bay. You need to choose whether you want a balcony or ground level patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Located right on the beach! They provide chairs, tables and loungers in the yard area between the hotel and the beach and chairs for use on the beach as well. There are BBQs available and a small continental breakfast is offered. We enjoyed two nights here and the staff were extremely helpful

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have walk out patios right to the courtyard and access to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent 2 nights in June. June 18th and 19th. Right on the beach. Our room had a patio with chairs and tables. Water was "cold" for us Michiganders in June, but what a beautiful view. Of course kids were in the water. Very relaxing property. Great location just outside of Traverse City. It is an older hotel. Air Condition is the wall unit type. It did the job though. Refrigerator worked just fine. I absolutely would stay again for a beach get away.
The room was good size with two double beds. Very comfortable beds. The bath was large and clean. The continental breakfast was basic, but we went out for breakfast anyway so it didn't matter to us. As a small hotel it is excellent. Of course doesn't have the glamour of a huge high rise but as a small older hotel it is great.

Room Tip: I suggest the patio over a balcony. Just my preference. There is a nice BBQ area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Pro's:

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful
Room and bathroom are clean
Beach is gorgeous and pretty much private, we were the only ones out there


Cons:

Pictures on site do not match your room, those are the pictures of the penthaus
Room is very small - bed is pretty much in kitchen
Doesn't have all the means necessary if you plan to cook all your meals there - ie utensils, cooking instruments, napkins, soap, pans - make sure to pack your own
Bed is horribly uncomfortable

All in all - decent place.

Room Tip: 1st floor opens up to the beach, 2nd floor has patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

As other reviews indicate, the service was friendly and prompt. The setting is as described and right on the water. Couldn’t be better.

If you have a room that is not enclosed in the main house the traffic is noisy at night, and speaking of night, this is the only hotel I have been to where the Kleenex is so hard and the beds are so soft. The mattress seems to be a slab of (aged) foam rubber that has compacted and flattened with use, nor have I slept on a bed with a plastic sheet under the mattress pad since I was a kid in a hospital. The result is that the bedding slides around under you, makes inexplicable and ineradicable bumps, and squeaks with every turn.

Value for money is OK, but I’m not sure about those beds.

Room Tip: Get a room inside the main building--not with direct access outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Haus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haus Resort

Address: 1489 US 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Haus Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Haus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Haus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.