We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the dough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Bread Co

Bay Bread Co
601 Randolph St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2013
231-922-8022
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 227 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Family owned bakery cafe. All natural, from scratch, freshly baked 40+ different varieties of artisan breads baked daily. Breakfast and lunch sandwiches, soup and salad. Stop in to see an old fashioned bakery work in progress. Staff waits on you as they multitask baking fresh cookies, scones, biscotti, granola, etc. From our families to yours, naturally.
Petoskey, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the dough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Great breads and other baked goodies. Worth you time and money. Close to downtown too! We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City and Saginaw Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“too commercial”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

food is iffy..even their namesake bread can be disappointing as they crank out mega quanrtities for local grocery strore chains...even Sams Club...no lonmger a destination for those who understand and know bread..

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“The best cinnamon rolls ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Do yourself a huge favor and stop in for the cinnamon rolls! The best we have ever eaten. The bread is fresh, the scones are out of this world, and the cookies melt in your mouth. The 3 times in years past that we have visited, it has always been winter. Watch the 6 steps up into the store, They are kept as clear as possible but it could be slippery. Its worth every careful step up into the store!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Order Then Head Up to The Roost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

If you eat here you place your order in the bakery side then head up stairs to The Roost where they deliver your meal. Two in our group order soups..White Bean Chili and Tomato Bisque...and reported the soups to be excellent. I had the turkey on their honey what bread..it was amazing. All at a great price. And excellent lunch choice. They also serve breakfast.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast or lunch spot ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

I love Bay Bread Co.! The bakery breads, cinnamon rolls, cookies, and treats are all fabulous. I love stopping here for an order of multigrain toast in morning. They serve it with locally made Cherry Butter that is delicious! For lunch you can choose sandwiches on their homemade breads and there is seating above the bakery. It is a fun place to go!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Bread Co also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Bay Bread Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Bread Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.