We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Distillery

Grand Traverse Distillery
781 Industrial Circle, Suite 5, Traverse City, MI 49686
231-947-8635
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 54 activities in Traverse City
Type: Distilleries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Grand Traverse Distillery uses 100% locally grown corn, wheat and rye to distill its spirits. We offer True North Vodka (rye based), a Wheat Vodka, Cherry Flavored Vodka and a Chocolate Infused Vodka. As for whiskey we have Ole George, a 100% Straight Rye Whiskey,a second Straight Rye Whiskey, Bourbon, 100% Corn Whiskey, a unique Cherry Whiskey and our 125 Proof Michigan Whiskey that is sold with mini barrels so a customer can come in and we will custom blend their whiskey at 125 proof then they age the whiskey at home in their barrel. These products are available for sale in the distillery retail rooms. We have two in Traverse City. The first is at our distillery and the second is in a shared tasting room with Black Star Farms in the Grand Traverse Commons. We also have a seasonal tasting room in Leland and a new tasting room located in the River Place Shops in Frankenmuth Our vodka products are found in over 1200 retail accounts in Michigan. We are also available in the Chicago area, Colorado. Our distillery retail room is open Monday through Saturday 11-a.m. to 5:30-p.m. a.nd Sunday from noon to 4-p.m.. On Thursdays through Saturdays from 11-a.m to 5-p.m. we give tours through the distillery. Come in and visit us for a sample of our award winning spirits.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first visit was several years ago, when we visit Traverse City we always visit the Distillery. We we were given a tour of the distillery and the process. The staff is always friendly and helpful, when we have questions they always have an answer. When we buy vodka they always have recipes to go along with it. My husband loves the whiskey and bourbon. So we always stock up. It is a must when we visit the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent R, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Folks
Thanks for coming in to see us again! We enjoy seeing customers who come back each year while on vacation. Hope to have new spirits each year to offer something new. I will be distilling our first batch of gin this Monday and hope to have it in the bottle and in our retail room in a week or two at the most. Our goal is to have something new each year. We just completed a nice rework on our tasting room also, new paint and fixtures.
Hope you had a great trip to TC and look forward to seeing you next year.
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    16
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a little time to waste before a wedding so we decided to make a trip here. It was about 2pm on a Saturday afternoon. We had the place to ourselves. A very nice girl greeted us with a smile and told us about some of the specials they were running on their clothing. Also told us about the tasting they offer. We tryed the cherry vodka and the cherry whiskey. Yum yum.
We could have taken a tour of the distillery, but we didn't. Next time we come we definitely going to.
We are from Michigan and proudly support Michigan companies when ever possible. I wish this company the best! I enjoy a good vodka and I found my new brand here. Thanks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torchlake99, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to post your trip into the distillery! We are glad you had time to stop in and see us on your trip to TC. Next time plan on taking a tour through our production area. It only takes about 15 to 20 min. and we can show you how we take locally grown grains and produce vodka and whiskey with them. Cheers Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Intersting place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were the first visitor's of the day. We had the place to our self. The staff was great and explained the process well. They answered all our question and adjusted their tour to our questions.
The tour is free, and some may consider the Alcohol a little pricey. The quality is high and very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torchlake99, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Frank
Thanks for taking time to write in! It is nice at times to have a small tour group where you feel it is more of a conversation vs. a tour. Come back again on your next visit to Northern Michigan. Someday it will warm up!
Cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Waky to Kickstart Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stopped by on a Friday around 12:30 as a kick-start to our weekend away from home and we had the place to ourselves. We were given a great explanation/description of the vodkas and whiskeys/bourbons that G.T.D. provides. After we tasted a couple of each (my first time trying corn whiskey) we were given a tour of the shop where the mashing/distillation/storing process was explained in a clear and concise way (heads/hearts/tails) I found it interesting how much the company is able to accomplish with only a few thousand square feet of space.

They have a nice retail space where all of the product is available. The spirits may be considered "pricey" but the quality of the product is evident and they're a Michigan-based business; that in itself is worth a couple of extra dollars!

We had a lot of fun here and it was a good way to start our time in Traverse City. We brought some bottles home with us and look forward to sipping the spirits away!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torchlake99, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for coming in and seeing our distillery and taking the time to write the kind review! Come in and see us again on your next trip to Traverse City. Hope to have gin ready for you to sample.
Cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little something unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went here with a few friends. Surprisingly busy for a midweek visit. We went for the tour and a taste. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about what they do. It was everything you'd expect from a homegrown, non commercialized business. Refreshing. The only downer would be the price of the liquor, but hey, you get what you pay for...and this was some good stuff...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torchlake99, Owner at Grand Traverse Distillery, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Michael
Thanks for the kind review and taking the time to send it in. Saturday is the busy day for us but we can get busy midweek. Please come back and see us in the future, we are working on several new spirits and hope to have something new soon, gin!
cheers
Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Distillery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Traverse Distillery to your Saves list