We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel Experience Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Motel

Save Saved
You added Sierra Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Motel
230 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Ithaca, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Motel Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The best motel experience ever! My family and I arrived in Traverse City to find that a room that we had reserved at another hotel had been over booked. We frantically drove the strip and stopped at the Sierra Hotel so that we could book a room to change for our daughter’s wedding, knowing full well that we would have to pay for an entire night, even though we only needed a room for an hour. Cony was so understanding and kind to our situation! She offered us a room to change in at a reduced price. I was extremely impressed by cleanliness of the room! When we walked in it smelled fresh and clean, the carpets were in impeccable condition and the bathroom was absolutely spotless! When we returned to the office after changing for the wedding, Cony walked up to check the room. When she returned she told us that we didn't owe her a thing! It was one of those kindnesses we will never forget! I would highly recommend this motel to anyone wanting a superbly clean room with genuine heartfelt hospitality! The next time we are in the Traverse City area, we definitely are staying at the Sierra Motel!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you we really appreciate your review, we hope to see you next time when you visit traverse city.Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The sign out front said something along the lines of "stop, look, be surprised". And the sign was right! Sierra motel is flanked by many large hotel chains and may appear a little outdated, but the room was SPOTLESS. Owners were very kind and always nice to see a family-owned hotel. I did not hear any noise from rooms next to me nor from the street. My only complaints are shower took a while to heat up and A/C took a while to cool down the room... Minor things. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay in TC, check out Sierra motel!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much to take the time to review Sierra Motel we hope to see you again .Connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Owners were great. They gave us a great suggestion for dinner. Room was very clean. This older motel has been well maintained. Great value for the price. If you don't need to be on the water, this is a great choice. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you we love your opinion and we hope to have the opportunity to server you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We didn't have any reservations in Traverse City and just happened to go by the Sierra. On their sign outside it boasted the cleanest rooms in Traverse City. That sign said it best. I am a fanatic when it comes to clean rooms and always want to see them before we stay. She ASKED US FIRST, even before we had a chance to ask her if we wanted to see the room. There was only one room left and it was in the corner on the second floor. Nice big room, and very, very clean. We never heard the street noise even though it is on the main drag and a state highway. The only sounds you could hear from other rooms is when they turned the water on for shower/bath. No voices, TV's, etc., but then we may have had quiet neighbors too. The continental breakfast was only coffee, juice and some small muffins, but adequate if you aren't a big breakfast eater. The owners are very friendly and always ask if there is anything you need to just ask, very accomodating. The grounds were as well kept as the rooms. We will definitely stay there again. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment, we hope to see you soon.connie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We needed a room at the last minute and pulled into this little motel, not expecting much. We were greeted by a nice lady, I believe her name was Connie?...she said the rooms are very clean several times....she showed us to the room and she was not kidding. Spotless...yes a bit dated, but well maintained and very clean. Room had a fridge, micro, cable and wifi. Best part is being able to back right up to your room to load and unload luggage. Thanks again for a great stay! Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
It was my pleasure to serve you and I hope to see you again soon, Thank You.
Cony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

in a recent trip to TC, we found the Sierra to be exactly as described. Nice place to pull your bike right up to your room. The road noise is a bit annoying at first, but that a function of Traverse City in the mid-summer peak travel season. Connie and her husband Slim are sweet and they'll do whatever they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There is a great breakfast place a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
is a big pleasure taking care for our value customers you are always welcome to our house. Mi Casa es su Casa. thank you .connie and Slim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked room as it was very close to the airport. It suited our needs for an over night stay. the room was exceptionally clean with a small refrigerator and microwave huge screen television. My only con was coffee pot in room made lousy weak coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
constanza d, Owner at Sierra Motel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you to give us the opportunity to have you as a guest in our house. Mi Casa Es Su Casa. Connie .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Motel

Address: 230 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.