We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is cheesecake....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Underground Cheesecake Company

The Underground Cheesecake Company
1333 Yellow Drive, Traverse City, MI 49684
231-929-4418
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $29
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Dessert Boutique and Savory Cafe ; In the Grand Traverse Commons.
Pendleton
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“It is cheesecake....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

A little hard to find because they were trying to line to road nearby and it was beginning to rain. I had expected it to be in the main building with more of the other shops. We ordered a total of 3 slices, Turtle (very good), mint chocolate chip (10 year old enjoyed it, for cheesecake) & triple chocolate (maybe too much of a good thing). Counter staff, very friendly & also made us aware of lunch specials. We would recommend if you like cheesecake & variety.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Should have stuck with cheesecake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you love cheesecake, this establishment has a lot to offer, with flavor combinations that really excite. And since all are available by the single slice ($4.50), you can test more than one. Alas, we passed on the cheesecake, looking for something lighter, and settled on the Hazelnut Genoise: a little mound of cake, hazelnut and frosting. We both felt it was dry, too sweet, and didn't live up to its appearance. Next time, I'm trying the Vermont Maple cheesecake, or the Pomegranage, or.... it will be tough to decide.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We ate lunch here while shopping at the Village of Traverse City. The Village is a very interesting place, a former mental hospital with beautiful building and grounds being rehabbed into shops and businesses. The Underground Cheesecake factory is not actually underground but in a small free standing apart from the main Villages buildings. It was a nice day so we sat outside on one of only a couple of small tables. I think they cater to carryout business. You fill out a slip to order your sandwich and there are a couple of specials to chose from. The sandwich was very good. I unfortunately did not try the cheesecake but they looked very good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely Deserves Its High Ratings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I was in the village with my fiance and we decided to check out this cheesecake place. I had seen their reviews online and had heard that it had been plugged by the food network.

All I can say is wow. The cheesecake was absolutely phenomenal. I had the German chocolate and my fiance had the new york cherry. Both were to die for.

Their other cheesecakes looked amazing too. They didn't just stick to the norm. They even had a pomegranate cheesecake. Yum!

The Underground Cheesecake factory was so good. I just know I'm going to have to come back every time I'm in Traverse City.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheesecake on a stick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stopped here for a quick lunch in June. Soup and sandwiches were tasty. We couldn't help but stare at the display case while eating lunch, because of the array of cheesecake varieties and other pastries. Naturally, after finishing lunch we sampled a couple of the mini-cheesecakes and decorated cookies. My favorite was the vanilla cheesecake with fresh fruit on top. The kids loved the cheesecake on a stick. What a great treat!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Underground Cheesecake Company also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Underground Cheesecake Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Underground Cheesecake Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.