We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Suites Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Cambria Suites Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Suites Traverse City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Munson Avenue US-31, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spotless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is amazingly CLEAN! We stayed the night and used the pool and hot tub and fitness center...all spotless...Went to Happy Hour and had great food and drinks and of course it was all spotless too! Sparkling glasses and silverware....tasty, well prepared food. The staff there, from the front desk to the maintenance folks, to the ladies in the breakfast buffet were all smiling and professionally attired and really paid attention to all clients. I felt well cared for and enjoyed my stay in every way! STRONGLY recommend the Cambria Suites in TC Michigan. Great free shuttle to downtown shopping and dining too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    62
    20
    3
    0
See reviews for
103
137
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Junta, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff were helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were doing well - an A+ for customer service. The exercise room was large but the pool was laughably small - more of a duck pond! The room was spacious. While the first part of the night was very quiet, our neighbor's TV was loud enough to be a bother and make it hard to get to sleep. Expect to pay extra for the breakfast. However, for the room price I think a muffin and coffee (or more) is not too much to ask for. Given the large happy hour crowd plus the extra charge for breakfast, this is less than ideal for families with kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel has everything one is looking for in a hotel. Convenience as to location. Easy to find and close to everything. REFLECT is a very good restaurant located in the hotel which offers a good dinner menu. Excellent workout room as well as a pool. They also have an onsite bar which offers happy hour each day along with appetizers. If you are there on a Saturday, be sure you get there a few minutes before happy hour to secure a seat as there were people lined up to be seated. I never saw a hotel bar get so much business as several local patronize it. Our room was a king suite which was very clean and large enough. Overall, our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I really enjoyed the room at the Cambria Suites. I tried one of the larger rooms on the 3rd floor. The furnishings were very nice and new, and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to have the separate area with a large TV instead of having to hang out on the bed. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, and the Bath and Body works sundries were a nice surprise. The only things I woudl possibly remark negatively upon was the noise level in the room. The road noise from outside was a little loud, but quieted down after dark. Also, the hotel had a jazz group giving a concert in the lobby and the noise (and bass) were still a bit disturbing even though I was on the 3rd floor. Overall, I agree with other reviewers and would rate this as a nice hotel option in TC. I did feel it was rather expensive considering this is not the high season for travel to TC and it is not on the water, but the room was probably worth it considering the other options in town.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main road may have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Super nice hotel, new with a bar and a restaurant. Deli open all of the time with premade sandwiches, yogurt, etc. Free shuttle to downtown or almost wherever you need to go in the nearby vicinity. The downtown was fun with many restaurants and shops. Great Italian deli where I found the Italian flour I needed for pizza dough! Many brewpubs, which my hubby loved, that we tried. Rainy while we were there and as I am watching the news about a meth bust, I realize it was the weekly/monthly rental hotel next door! Good neighborhood but just a shady incident. Stay there!

Room Tip: We had a king room away from the road. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Enjoyed a delightful weekend visit to this hotel for a conference event, and enjoyed everything about it. Very clean, very hospitable staff, free coffee! Also left some possession behind, which was quickly sent to me.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed two nights for a ladies weekend. I booked based on tripadvisor reviews and was totally happy with our visit. This is a newer hotel, with modern decorating and fixtures. The lobby is spacious, and includes a great small bar, various unique seating areas, computer access and a contemporary fireplace and TV's. Check in was quick and easy. Luggage carts available to take up our items.
Upon entering our room, we were totally pleased with the furnishings and amenities. Based on some reviews we had read, we asked for a larger room, which apparently was also handicap accessible (larger doorways, bars in the shower and near the toilet, lowered sink). We didn't know that meant it would be handicap accessible, but it was still very nice. Most rooms you walk into, bring you into the sitting area, and then on into the bedroom area. In these larger rooms, it is split down the middle, with the sitting area on one side (left), and the bedroom on the other (right). The open shelves between the two allow you to have some privacy from one room to the other, but still allow those in one room to feel as though they aren't in two totally separate rooms. (see pictures of the rooms on the hotel website to get a better idea of what I am talking about.)
The sitting area was large, with a desk and office chair, fold out bed, two stuffed chairs, and the bar area, with glassware, refrigerator, coffeepot, microwave area. It also had a flatscreen TV on the wall. The fold out bed was comfortable, and management even came in and made up the bed for us while we were away. It was fairly comfortable - obviously not as comfortable as a real bed, but it was newer, clean and adequate for our stay.
The bedroom area had 2 queen beds that were plush and very comfortable to sleep on. There was nice closet space, as well as a large dresser, luggage stand, mirrors, and other chairs to accommodate us and our luggage. All of the furnishings were clean, and we found no problems with any of them.
The bathroom was also well appointed, with nice fixtures and toiletries. I'm guessing that because our room was an accessible room, certain bathroom specifications were changed to accommodate someone who needed the handicap access. The sink seemed very low, mirror was quite low (I'm quite tall...)and there was minimal counter space. I saw pictures of other rooms, and they had nice walk in showers, and ours was more of a deep tub, with a tile seat area. It was still very nice, and the shower head provided good water pressure, with a nice fixture. Towels were decent - not horribly thin or scratchy, better than many! If I stayed again, I don't think I'd ask for the "larger" room. It was still excellent, but I'd rather have the nice walk in shower than the accessible tub.
Our room was on the second floor, right above the main entryway. Every now and then you could hear the automatic doors downstairs, opening and closing, or if a noisy guest was coming in, but it wasn't too bad. You are right on a busy street, so you will probably hear some traffic, but it's not extremely loud. You may want to ask for a room towards the back of the property, which will still be near the street, but at least a bit further away from it.
The bar downstairs was small, but the bartender was very fun and took great care of us. They do have some great happy hour specials, and appetizers available, which we enjoyed. Very reasonablly priced.
They do also have a breakfast area, that is not included with your room, but only $7-10 (if I remember correctly), for a very nice breakfast. Yes, they have your "hotel breakfast" staples, but they also have an omelette cook there taking your order, and making it for you with your requested ingredients. It's not all pre-packaged stuff, and does offer nice fresh fruit, rolls, meats, breads, oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, coffee and orange juice. It was nice to wake up, come down for breakfast, and then go back up, shower and get ready to head out for the day. There is also a small deli/coffee shop right next to the breakfast area, that serves all the desired coffee drinks. Not too expensive either.
We did not use the hot tub or pool while we were there. They looked nice, small, but clean and well-kept.
Apparently they do have shuttle/van service available. You do need to make arrangements ahead of time. I was told that they will take you wherever you need to go - restaurant, etc. We chose to explore and drive ourselves, as we didn't want to have to be on a schedule, but we appreciated that the service was available. See the desk attendant for more info if you're interested.
Cambria usually has a two night minimum stay. There may be times when they don't, but you will have to check and see if that is the same for when you stay. Unfortunately, last time we went to TC, we had to stay elsewhere, as we were only staying for one night. Our preference would have been Cambria, but I guess that means that we will just have to plan another trip for more nights. :)
During the busy season, their rates can be kind of steep, but I would almost rather pay them, and stay at such a nice place, than take my chances elsewhere. For our weekend, we had 4 women sharing our room, and when each of us is chipping in, it wasn't that bad.
Their location is very close to downtown restaurants and shopping, and VERY close to the road that leads up to the peninsula wine trail. Those were the places we planned on visiting the most, so this location was perfect for us. If you'd prefer to be closer to the casino, look further up the road. This is one of the hotels that is the furthest from the casino.
I look forward to staying here again very soon. We had an excellent time, and totally enjoyed feeling like we were staying at a "fancier" hotel. We're not snobbish, and don't require luxury, but it was much nicer than choosing to stay at an older property, or something that's been "recently remodeled" - rooms like that always make me nervous...
If you're in the area and looking for some fun things check out North Peak Brewery (great food, local ingredients, beer, of course!), Jolly Pumpkin Brewery (out on the peninsula, if you're hitting the wineries, make a stop here for lunch! - YUM!, cool building), Trattoria Stella (in the old, remodeled buildings on the grounds of the former state hospital. try the espresso martini...), Spice Merchants (a shop on Front Street, I believe. 100's of different dry spice blends, loose leaf teas, etc. So fun and a great way to try something new, reasonablly priced too), Amical (on Front Street, excellent breakfast, decent priced, fresh, local food), and Red Ginger (Asian and Asian-inspired foods, They do have a great happy hour too.) You can check out each of these places online and see if it suits your interests, but these are our favorite places to go when we are in TC, and each of them is only 10-15 minutes from this hotel. Of course, the wine trail out on the peninsula is great too!
Have fun in Traverse City! We love it, and love staying at Cambria!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, if you need a bit more space. It may be handicap accessible, but does provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cambria Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Suites Traverse City

Address: 255 Munson Avenue US-31, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Suites Traverse City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent non-smoking Cambria Suites® hotel provides luxury accommodations in the charming coastal town of Traverse City, and is the perfect place to stay for corporate or leisure travelers.Our Cambria Suites luxury hotel offers both business and leisure travelers exclusive amenities that will make you feel right at home, including: Restaurant, lounge, barista bar, state of the art fitness center and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cambria Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambria Suites Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.