We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Mitchell Creek Inn!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Mitchell Creek Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mitchell Creek Inn
894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Waterloo, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved the Mitchell Creek Inn!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights at the Mitchell Creek Inn in July 2013. We had a large motel room- the last one farthest from the highway. I would request it again as there was no highway traffic noise at all. the room was spotless and very well stocked with everything you could want.
The office staff are very helpful and friendly. There is a lovely shaded green space area for relaxing, reading and a bon fire. You are literally across the road from the State Park-- a 2 minute walk to sandy beach and swimming. Fabulous location.
My only comment would be that end unit room #10 would benefit from darkening curtains as there is a large bright light that shines all night-right in the window that is between the beds.
Beds were very comfortable. I really loved this little inn!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Request rooms set in from the highway. Do not be afraid of the house dogs.............they are adora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were taking a road trip needed something close to the water affordable & clean for an overnight stay.We took a chance and won!! This place is like staying with family. Loved the personnel feel to this place. We traveled with a 10 month old baby and had plenty of room. A small kitchen area to wash bottles, microwave, cooking area with dishes & utensil including pots & pans!! We enjoyed having wine on the front porch while the baby fell asleep...very good & more benefits for a family then a hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Inn a few days days ago. What a surprise! Rooms were clean and the staff very nice. The grounds make this place. The creek runs through the property and you can catch fish here. There is a nice gazebo with a table, chairs and a Webber grill for guests to use ( and we did). The owners are very nice people and very dog freindly. They have three dogs on the property: Sam the Bassett hound, and two border collies. Rosco like to fetch rocks from the creek (Dave is trying to break this habit). Rosco also has a rubber fetch stick and never seems to get tired of diving into the cold water. The Traverse Bay is across the street and a very nice beach area and park. Long story short- a great value for the money and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a small place, a couple cottages, plus motel rooms with or without mini-kitchen. Back of property serene, front is noisy highway. Good value, not fancy. Keep expectations in check. Nice, friendly owners.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Traveling with two small kids and decided we weren't ready to come home yet. I was on Trip Advisor in the State Park parking lot looking for a place to stay and saw Mitchell Creek Inn from there. I drove over and was met by a very friendly staff and got a Kitchenette Room for a VERY reasonable price. Once checked in we walked around the grounds a little. There is a little creek winding its way through the back area where there is some seating and a firepit. They built us a fire later that evening and provided us with sticks for roasting. There were even some LARGE fish to watch on their way through. The owners were so helpful and friendly. I even talked them into coming out to the fire to chat with us a bit. Very comfy beds. Just a tip not a complaint that you do need to bring your own toiletries. I would classify it as no frills but a hidden gem of a place. We will go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our room (on the end) was very spacious with a kitchenette. The only issue was the A/C didn't work (not usually an issue in Michigan but it was August and it was in the 80s). There were no other rooms available close to our price range within a 40 mile drive, possibly because we were in Traverse City during the film festival. We decided to stay and the manager brought over two fans and gave us a discount on the price. Things worked out OK.
The setting is very nice with an outdoor area with a firepit and yes, there is a creek. Also very convenient to the park across the street. Not fancy but more character than a chain.
The manager was helpful (gave us a map and good direction to a laundrymat).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hourly, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your cooperation as we awaited the arrival of the new air conditioning unit! We're glad you enjoyed the area and the personalized service. We look forward to greeting you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is such a great place to stay. Very clean and affordable for a family vacation. My daughter loves the creek and Digger the dog. The cabin is awesome and the kitchen is a good size. The owners are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hourly, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much. We are honored to serve all our guests.
"Entertaining Angels Unaware", Hebrews 13:2. God bless and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitchell Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell Creek Inn

Address: 894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mitchell Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.