We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell Creek Inn

Save Saved
You added Mitchell Creek Inn to your Saves list
Mitchell Creek Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mitchell Creek Inn
894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our room (on the end) was very spacious with a kitchenette. The only issue was the A/C didn't work (not usually an issue in Michigan but it was August and it was in the 80s). There were no other rooms available close to our price range within a 40 mile drive, possibly because we were in Traverse City during the film festival. We decided to stay and the manager brought over two fans and gave us a discount on the price. Things worked out OK.
The setting is very nice with an outdoor area with a firepit and yes, there is a creek. Also very convenient to the park across the street. Not fancy but more character than a chain.
The manager was helpful (gave us a map and good direction to a laundrymat).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hourly, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your cooperation as we awaited the arrival of the new air conditioning unit! We're glad you enjoyed the area and the personalized service. We look forward to greeting you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is such a great place to stay. Very clean and affordable for a family vacation. My daughter loves the creek and Digger the dog. The cabin is awesome and the kitchen is a good size. The owners are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hourly, Owner at Mitchell Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much. We are honored to serve all our guests.
"Entertaining Angels Unaware", Hebrews 13:2. God bless and have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin in February. There is a great open grass area for the kids without the worry of them getting hit by vehicles. The creek was awesome. My daughter really enjoyed looking for fish. The cabin was great, perfect for us. The kitchen with window looking out to the grass area was nice. The heating system was very efficient. This place was also very quiet. We had a great relaxing time. Cant wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

For the past two summers we have stayed at Mitchell Creek Inn for our annual golf outing. We love it! There are approximately twenty of us that stay there as we can all gather around the firepit at night and be together. The staff at the Inn is friendly, courteous and accomodating. The rooms are very small and quaint but extremely clean and fresh. We have not found the small rooms to be a problem because we basically are only in them to sleep. There is a small pavilion outside and the firepit area so we are usually gathered there. The dogs usually join us as they love to run after balls or sticks and we have become very fond of them.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Drove up north on a whim without the kids......location is great as is the customer service - staff was super friendly! Room was small but clean and quiet. Great for the two of us! HD TV's and free internet. Can't beat it for the price! Room also has a microwave and small fridge. Bathroom has shower only - no tub. We were planning on spending one night only....but for the price we took two nights. Can't beat it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Somehow we ended up with a smoking room that smelled terrible. We tried using Febreeze every time we left but it still stunk when we returned. The room was about 10 feet wide by 20 feet long, including the bathroom.

Now for the good. The bedding was clean and the staff was very nice. They had two great dogs on site that were friendly and always liked a good scratch. It is only because of these aspects that it does not get a "Poor" rating. In the future though, we'll book a hotel further in advance to avoid staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

" ‎5 stars for cleanliness and location. ZERO stars for customer service!!! We made reservations on October 21 to stay in the cabin from Thanksgiving day, the 25th, till Saturday, the 27th. We needed a full kitchen and a pet friendly place. We had a cooler full of food to cook. My son is in the culinary program at NWM. He had a m...enu for us he was going to cook for us. Everything seemed perfect until we arrived.

We arrived 1 hour early. We asked for an early check in so we could start cooking. The person at the front desk told us "sorry we gave your reservations away" WHAT? We just drove 2.5 hours and we never even got a courtesy call about this dilema? The person at the front desk offered us 2 other rooms, with no kitchens, at the same price or a refund and we could find another place to stay. Really? on Thanksgiving day you want us to find another place that has a kitchen and welcomes pets? We had no choice.

I spoke to the front desk the next morning about this situation and asked what happened. The front dest told me that a family had come in from out of town and it was an emergency so the owners decided to put them in the cabin WE reserved and told the front desk person we would be better off in the two other rooms.

This was totally unacceptable and we had no choice but to stay. Being with my family eating pizza and chinese food on Thanksgiving was more important than cooking BUT I will never, ever reccomend this place to any of my friends or family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mitchell Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell Creek Inn

Address: 894 Munson Ave, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mitchell Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.