We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinestead Reef Resort

Save Saved
You added Pinestead Reef Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinestead Reef Resort
1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Bay City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My three children and I stood at Pinestead Reef a few weekends ago for two nights and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a one bedroom condo on the second floor and it was very clean and had everything we could need in the well-stocked kitchen. It was great to have a living room and a kitchen when you have kids traveling with you! One night we opted to stay on the beach for dinner and made sandwiches in the room to take downstairs. The room was a bit dated, but kept very clean. There were two queen-sized beds in the bedroom and a comfortable bathroom. The beach was right outside the door downstairs and easily accessible through the patio steps. Nice view of the water too. I highly recommend this condo property if you would like to be on the beach with more amenities than just a hotel room. Staff was very friendly too.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor that has a walk-out to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

More than we needed. Had a full kitchen. Which we did not need or use. Was on first floor and could walk on to a beautiful beach. It was a little dated but good enough. The room size was huge. Most of the furniture was fine, some showed a little wear. My wife felt it was not the cleanest place (kitchen chair and bathroom floor) I felt it was ok and would not stop me from coming back. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Compared to a true 5 star hotel it is not, but the location on the beach and the size of the rooms makes it worth a look. Great for family with small kids and teens who love to walk the beach

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I take a week vacation every year to Traverse City and stay at the Pinestead. It's beautiful resort with a indoor pool, arcade room, BBQ's and this resort has the BEST BEACH! Some of the water levels on Grand Traverse Bay are very very low but the Pinestead doesn't have that problem and looks fantastic every year. This resort is always packed to capacity in the summer. Hopefully you'll be one of the lucky one's like my family and I to buy a timeshare or stay a week or two on the bay. GORGOUS place to stay!

Room Tip: I suggest asking for a end unit. They are a bit more $$ but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the 1st time we stayed on the bay in TC. Normally we will stay on the big lake either farther north or south. We chose this location because it was for a family reunion and the 2 BR condo, it was perfect! The location was awesome and the sunset over the bay was spectacular, we made a point to watch the every night. The room also worked out well as family came in and out all week and everyone enjoyed their stay. The facility is centrally located and anything you would want or need is walking distance or a short drive. The grounds were well manicured and pristine. The kitchen had everything we needed so we were able to make whatever we wanted whenever we wanted. The bedrooms were on opposite of each other so we still had plenty of space and the living room was sufficient. The pool area and beaches were very nice and kept clean with plenty of loungers and chairs available. We were able to walk the beach in either direction as the State Park was right next door. The ducks and swans were beggars for sure; we were sucker and would throw them treats. It was a wonderful stay and would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This place is a perfect location to lock ourselves up in the room to just quilt all day and all week. Staff is friendly and they know us since we come up every year. I don't care about the looks of this place as long as we have a comfortable bed, working kitchen and a swimming pool to take breaks in. It is a good place to stay during the winter obviously for skiing or quilting. It gives us relaxing feeling quilting away while we watch swans swimming away on the semi frozen bay with snow all over. We are coming back in early next year!

Room Tip: If you want a perfect view of the bay, take a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My daughter, teenaged granddaughter & I stayed recently in this condo rental property and were very happy with the location (right on the main street in Traverse City, & directly on the beach), accommodations (1-BR w/ 2 queen beds + living room with hide-a-bed and full kitchen), and cleanliness throughout (everything everywhere is spotless). The rooms & bathroom areas were roomy with modest but homey furniture, comfortable, with great beds & a - believe it or not! - very comfortable new sofa-bed. The indoor pool & sauna were gorgeous & inviting, and even though it was freezing the night we were there, we sat on the patio & listened to and watched the waves crashing in from Lake Michigan. A fog was rolling in, and it was just mystical & ethereal to watch! Being steps from the beach is always a luxury, and our spacious accommodations were only $87 (I'm sure that in-season rates would be understandably higher). Our daughter heard that this property has the best stretch of beach & clean sand on the entire main street, and it really appeared that way. You are also literally minutes from all sorts of activities, restaurants, and state parks. The Pinestead Reef Resort also has a lovely upper room which overlooks the water, complete with fireplace, suitable for business meetings or family gatherings. This place is a treasure with its great staff & wonderful rooms. If I could've given it a 6-star rating, I would have.

Room Tip: Ask for room 129 on the ground floor - it has a wonderful view and is just steps from the beach. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My 3 sisters and I have been staying at the Pinestead for the last 10 years. The accommodations are clean, roomy and homey. The people who work there are also very friendly and helpful. We usually go in the middle of October every year and always have had good weather. We usually do a winery run and a trip to the Casino. We look forward to this trip and a return to the Pinestead. I recommend the Pinestead very highly.

Room Tip: We have been in many of the rooms. Our favorite is the one downstairs that has a picture window loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Address: 1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinestead Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.