We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinestead Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pinestead Reef Resort to your Saves list
Pinestead Reef Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Traverse City
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yearly trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My 3 sisters and I have been staying at the Pinestead for the last 10 years. The accommodations are clean, roomy and homey. The people who work there are also very friendly and helpful. We usually go in the middle of October every year and always have had good weather. We usually do a winery run and a trip to the Casino. We look forward to this trip and a return to the Pinestead. I recommend the Pinestead very highly.

Room Tip: We have been in many of the rooms. Our favorite is the one downstairs that has a picture window loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
431 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent the week-end in a one bedroom unit on a cold weekend in March. Great place for the money! Comfortable living room and functional kitchen; two comfy beds in the bedroom and large bathroom. We shared with another couple and were very comfortable. We were the only ones in the the indoor pool and hot tub. While the furnishings were a bit dated, the room was clean and functional, and a fraction of what it costs in the summer! So much more comfortable that a hotel room! Great microwave for heating snacks and large fridge for storing all that wine from the winery visits...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We love this condo property. It has easy access to downtown and fronts on one of Traverse City's most beautiful beaches. Spacious rooms with full-sized kitchen. Highly recommend. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Game room for kids. We recommend going to dinner at Red Ginger and Om Cafe, both in downtown Traverse City. Frenchies is a wonderful "hole in the wall" coffee shop that serves the best coffee, espresso, caps, lattes (along with Oryana which is the best place for grocery shopping -- located on 10th St.). One more thing: watch a movie at the State Theater! You can't beat it. Enjoy your stay at the Pinestead and in Traverse City.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank NandSManitou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
352 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a condo property with large one and two bedroom rental condos. These units are huge, way bigger than the modern suite hotels. Things are really up to date from the recent renovations. You get a full kitchen with full size fridge and stove and all the dishes needed for a family of four. Everything is spotlessly clean and the indoor pool and hot tub are warm and cozy. The price varies by season and is very reasonable compared to the nearby hotels especially when you realize you get twice as much space and the location is right on the beach. You need a car to fully enjoy this area as so many attractions are 10 or up to 30 minutes away. The downtown Front Street shopping district is only two minutes away and is a 'must see' for its eclectic collection of unique boutiques and shops. The area is famous for cherries so be sure to try all manner of cherry concoctions that seem improbable but will amaze you. With so much to do this is truly a four season destination. And the Pinestead Reef Resort is the perfect home base for your trip.

Room Tip: From the ground floor rooms you can walk directly out to the beach through the sliding doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort, although old, was spotless, and had the necessary updates that newer facilities do not match. The views from the living area and bedroom were magnificent. Reasonably priced and very comfortable. Well-appointed and equipped as well. Would definitely stay again. Although a little far away from the city proper, it is still close enough to everything. There are lots of wineries a short distance away as well.

Room Tip: It is my understanding that off season, it is easy to book. During the season, however, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Pinestead Reef a week ago. I would certainly stay again as the rooms were so well equipped and spotlessly clean. The location is a bit further from the city than we've normally been but easy access to the beach is worth it. I had a problem operated the shower mechanism and someone was there quickly to show us. The elevator to the 2nd floor was very convenient to our room as requested. The pool-sauna area was great ...but a very chilly outside walk to it at this time of year. However, there are great shower facilities such as shower, sinks, lockers etc. so one could change before going out or in. The only drawback for us was the no-pet rule but I imagine this to be fairly typical of time-share units like this

Room Tip: OUr room , 222, was closest to the elevator (midway)but quite a walk from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a great place to stay. A condo is the way to go when traveling with another couple. The cost was less compared to getting 2 hotel rooms. As a matter of fact since the two bedroom units were all booked they gave us a three bedroom unit. Loved being on the beach, we were able to unwind and just relax. Kim was just awesome. She gave us maps and highlighted routes for us, telling us what to see, she also gave us menus for some of the restaurants in the area. It's great this place allows rentals when you only what to stay a few days without using an RCI exchange. We will absolutely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gziggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.0 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 41 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#24 of 41 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Address: 1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinestead Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing