We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo for a Cold Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinestead Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Pinestead Reef Resort to your Saves list
Pinestead Reef Resort
1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great Condo for a Cold Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent the week-end in a one bedroom unit on a cold weekend in March. Great place for the money! Comfortable living room and functional kitchen; two comfy beds in the bedroom and large bathroom. We shared with another couple and were very comfortable. We were the only ones in the the indoor pool and hot tub. While the furnishings were a bit dated, the room was clean and functional, and a fraction of what it costs in the summer! So much more comfortable that a hotel room! Great microwave for heating snacks and large fridge for storing all that wine from the winery visits...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We love this condo property. It has easy access to downtown and fronts on one of Traverse City's most beautiful beaches. Spacious rooms with full-sized kitchen. Highly recommend. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Game room for kids. We recommend going to dinner at Red Ginger and Om Cafe, both in downtown Traverse City. Frenchies is a wonderful "hole in the wall" coffee shop that serves the best coffee, espresso, caps, lattes (along with Oryana which is the best place for grocery shopping -- located on 10th St.). One more thing: watch a movie at the State Theater! You can't beat it. Enjoy your stay at the Pinestead and in Traverse City.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a condo property with large one and two bedroom rental condos. These units are huge, way bigger than the modern suite hotels. Things are really up to date from the recent renovations. You get a full kitchen with full size fridge and stove and all the dishes needed for a family of four. Everything is spotlessly clean and the indoor pool and hot tub are warm and cozy. The price varies by season and is very reasonable compared to the nearby hotels especially when you realize you get twice as much space and the location is right on the beach. You need a car to fully enjoy this area as so many attractions are 10 or up to 30 minutes away. The downtown Front Street shopping district is only two minutes away and is a 'must see' for its eclectic collection of unique boutiques and shops. The area is famous for cherries so be sure to try all manner of cherry concoctions that seem improbable but will amaze you. With so much to do this is truly a four season destination. And the Pinestead Reef Resort is the perfect home base for your trip.

Room Tip: From the ground floor rooms you can walk directly out to the beach through the sliding doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort, although old, was spotless, and had the necessary updates that newer facilities do not match. The views from the living area and bedroom were magnificent. Reasonably priced and very comfortable. Well-appointed and equipped as well. Would definitely stay again. Although a little far away from the city proper, it is still close enough to everything. There are lots of wineries a short distance away as well.

Room Tip: It is my understanding that off season, it is easy to book. During the season, however, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Pinestead Reef a week ago. I would certainly stay again as the rooms were so well equipped and spotlessly clean. The location is a bit further from the city than we've normally been but easy access to the beach is worth it. I had a problem operated the shower mechanism and someone was there quickly to show us. The elevator to the 2nd floor was very convenient to our room as requested. The pool-sauna area was great ...but a very chilly outside walk to it at this time of year. However, there are great shower facilities such as shower, sinks, lockers etc. so one could change before going out or in. The only drawback for us was the no-pet rule but I imagine this to be fairly typical of time-share units like this

Room Tip: OUr room , 222, was closest to the elevator (midway)but quite a walk from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a great place to stay. A condo is the way to go when traveling with another couple. The cost was less compared to getting 2 hotel rooms. As a matter of fact since the two bedroom units were all booked they gave us a three bedroom unit. Loved being on the beach, we were able to unwind and just relax. Kim was just awesome. She gave us maps and highlighted routes for us, telling us what to see, she also gave us menus for some of the restaurants in the area. It's great this place allows rentals when you only what to stay a few days without using an RCI exchange. We will absolutely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here weekend of October 5th, 2012. We were immediately greeted and made to feel welcome by the lady at the desk. We even got into our room earlier than 3. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were! It's very much like you have your own apartment right on the water. We stayed in a ground floor room which had sliding glass doors that went right out to our patio overlooking the bay. It was pretty chilly so we didn't spend any time outside except to take pictures, but in the summer, the beach area looks like it would be really nice. When you walk into your room, there is a little kitchen area which is fully stocked with glassware, silverware, pots and pans, coffee maker--everything you need. Then past that there is a table that's big enough for four people to sit around. Beyond that is a living room area with big flat-screen tv, a pull-out couch and recliner. A separate bedroom area (in an adjacent room with a door) has it's own flat screen tv, 2 double beds, the bathroom and a little vanity area. Also, it has 2 closets (with a safe), an ironing board, etc. Lots of extra pillows and blankets. Really, anything you need for a trip is right there. We didn't use the pool, but the couple we traveled with who also stayed there used it twice and they had no problems with that or with the hot tub. We had a really nice stay here. Affordable, clean, and a lot bigger and nicer than I thought it would be. I will definitely return next year once it gets warmer! Oh also, it was maybe a 5 minute drive to downtown TC and once you park your car, the entire downtown area is walkable. Lots of shops, coffee houses, pubs and restaurants. Also, the peninsula with all of its wineries and restaurants is right around the corner from the Pinestead. It's a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 127 and really liked it. It all depends on your preference. Some people don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinestead Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Reef Resort

Address: 1265 U.S. 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pinestead Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinestead Reef Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinestead Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.