We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tesoro Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tesoro Inn
Save
You added Tesoro Inn to your Saves list
15627 Center Road, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
chicago, illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unparalleled bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

It is difficult to know where to begin in describing our stay at the Tesoro Inn. We visited for the first time in August, a little wary, due to all the outstanding reviews. We've stayed at other bed and breakfasts whose reviews were unfailingly positive, only to find that they were "optimistic" at best. But, from the moment we walked in the door, it was clear that we were in a truly outstanding place. Jane is an artist. Outdoors and in, her little touches are evident. Contemporary and comfortable, every aspect of the Inn is lovely. We stayed in the trellis suite, which is really a small apartment with a private patio/garden. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in, motivating me to replace the one we have at home. Loved the bathroom with its walk in shower. Our room and the common rooms were impeccably clean. We happend to return to our room one morning while it was being cleaned, and all the items from the vanity had been moved to a towel on the floor as the sink and vanity were being washed. Every day fresh bottled water appeared in our room; every evening our bed was turned down and treats were left on our nightstands, along with a breakfast menu. You have your choice of three different breakfast entrees, and most mornings it was a difficult choice--everything looked so good, and it was. Les is an accomplished chef and our breakfasts rivaled any I've had in hotels or restaurants. You can choose to have breakfast in any number of places, including your room, but by the end of our stay my hubby requested the kitchen table where we could chat with Les while he worked his magic at the stove. The mission peninsula is peaceful and quiet with a variety of natural areas, restaurants and wineries.
All in all, our four days at the Tesoro Inn gave us a welcome respite from our busy lives, just what a vacation should be, and it was so delightfully orchestrated by the care and hospitality of Les and Jane.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am not one to write reviews, but I find it especially necessary to tell you how amazing this place is. Les and Jane have thought of every last detail to make your stay a memorable one. From the moment we walked into the Tesoro Inn we felt welcome and special. Complimentary pop, water, and juice is always available as well as tea and coffee. There are wonderful desserts on your night stand with turn down service. The breakfasts were outstanding and the presentation of the table (you can eat in your room, in the tower over looking the winery of Chateau Chantal, or in the dining room) is unreal. Beautiful home, amazing amenities, and two wonderful hosts. We will return next year and years to come! You NEED to check out the Tesoro Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second stay at Tesoro and LOVED it yet again. Les and Jane are fantastic hosts and I believe they have thought of everything, really, everything! From the little things like complimentary water, soda & tea to the simple things like a hairdryer, toiletries, iron, area information and heated bathroom floors ;). Les's breakfasts are PHENOMENAL and I love that you can choose where to eat it (in room, in house, outside). This is no ordinary B & B. It's a perfect way to visit the beautiful Old Mission Peninsula. We look forward to returning for a 3rd visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our first trip to the Old Mission Peninsula, and Tesoro proved to be a wonderful home base for us, right in the middle of wine country. The accommodations and our hosts, Les and Jane, were warm and inviting. Les's breakfasts were absolutely delicious--and we delighted in dessert each evening after turn-down service. What separates outstanding B&Bs from the rest is the attention to detail and level of care for the guests. Tesoro is certainly in this class. If we return to the area someday--and I hope we will as our weekend couldn't have been better (perfect weather and some of the most beautiful scenery in the Midwest), Tesoro is first on our list.

Room Tip: All three rooms offer lovely views of vineyards and orchards--you can't go wrong there. The bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I must highly recommend the Tesoro Inn to couples visiting Old Mission Peninsula. The home is very contemporary, but also warm and inviting. The pear tree room was spacious and it overlooked Chateau Chantal. The room is very tasteful with a nice sitting area, king size sleigh bed and heated floors in the bathroom. The innkeepers keep the room spotless. The breakfast Les prepares is fantastic and I gained a few pounds after only two days. Also, we loved the sweet evening treat at our bedside. I highly recommend looking up at night. The stars are amazing! I can't wait to return on our next TC wine trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We can't say enough good things about Tesoro Inn. It was our first bed & breakfast & we loved it. We stayed 4 nights in the Pear Tree Suite. Les & Jane have put a lot of thought & hard work into their business & it shows. The quality of everything was top notch from the details of the room to the delicious breakfasts & desserts!! We looked forward to reading our breakfast menu each evening while enjoying dessert. We ate breakfast every morning outside on the patio surrounded by beautiful flowers.
We know we will be going back & spreading the wonderful experience we had w/ family & friends!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We loved this place. There are only 3 rooms so it is quiet. The rooms are very nicely decorated. The breakfast menus are amazing, and Les is a great chef. I would highy recommend this B&B and will most likely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tesoro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tesoro Inn

Address: 15627 Center Road, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tesoro Inn is a beautiful, contemporary Bed and Breakfast situated in the heart of wine country on the lovely Old Mission Peninsula. We are nestled within acres of orchards and vineyards, surrounded by beauty in all seasons. Please come, relax and enjoy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tesoro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.