We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    160
    78
    36
    16
See reviews for
122
162
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Breakfast was truly continental. The only protein available was in yogurt. Add eggs to make it more inviting. The room was pretty quiet and little noise heard in adjacent rooms. Bed was like a rock but surprisingly we slept very well. Rooms adequate in decorations though spartan. Maid staff took soap and towels without replacement. That was a nuisance. Convenient to town but really disliked the metal outdoor steps to second floor which I had asked not to be our room assignment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in second floor room. Room was clean and up do date, bath area is a bit small but overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Room was ok. Phone did not work and had to go to desk to get a new one which was also an inconvenience because stairs are difficult for me and my friend so every trip up and down the stairs was a challenge. We were not informed that the room was on the second floor when booking and the elevators were not available.
I spent two nights as planned and paid a very high rate to stay in hotel and had no room service. My trash not emptied, bed not made for me and I had to again ask for clean towels. I did not eat breakfast in your establishment because everything was cold cereal,muffins etc. No fruit or anything warm was offered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Being the budget traveler I am, I did my research and found this Howard Johnson's in Traverse City.For the price it was clean and in a good location. No problems checking in. Easy drive to downtown area, to Mission and Lelanau Peninsulas. Room was very spacious with lots of storage for clothing.
Free "breakfast" was your usual, nothing special,bagel, cereal, muffin. No elevator to second floor so pack small suitcase for schlepping up old metal stairs.
( They seem to be updating with parts of the exterior done. Maybe replacing stairs is in the near future). Some dining options are within walking distance. This hotel ( like many others here) is on the main road in and out of downtown Traverse City so if you are a light sleeper, you can hear the traffic but its not terrible. If you like fancy, this is not the place for you, but for the 3 nights we stayed, it was perfectly fine ( how much time do you actually spend in a room while on vacation anyways?)For half the price of other hotels in the same area, it was a good choice for us and I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Traverse City

Address: 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Traverse City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.