We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel looks to be newly renovated and is vey clean and roomy. The main area where the breakfast was served was nice. The staff was friendly. The one thing that was bad is that the Internet was intermittent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    158
    76
    34
    15
See reviews for
116
159
20
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My family stayed at the HoJo the first weekend of May 2013. I made my reservation at this hotel because it got such a high rating on Trip Advisor (and since it was still the off-season, was only $60/night for 2 queen beds). I was a bit skeptical that a "motel" would have such high marks, but I was surprisingly very pleased with our room. Turns out, all the rooms are new; new carpet, newer cherry furnishings, flat screen tv, the bathroom was completely redone. In room coffee, hair dryer, small fridge. The lobby was very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable seating with fireplace. The continental breakfast (cereal, oatmeal, toast, juice, coffee) was basic but enough to start the day. They have a seasonal outdoor pool that wasn't open during our visit. And since it's motel-like and you enter all the rooms from the outside, you don't hear all the hallway noise of people walking or doors slamming. And it's right on the main drag in Traverse City, across the street from mini-golf and a short drive or walk away from the downtown. I'll definitely stay here again as long as the price is right!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

All in all a very good experience. Even the weather cooperated! We received great value for the very reasonable off-season rates we paid. Most of the other hotels are much more expensive in pricey Traverse City, Mi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossineke
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked this room for my inlaws who were in Traverse City for Susrgery at the hospital. I booked Tue/Wed/Thur/Fri nights. Surgery went well and they got discharged one day early, When they attempted to check out Friday morning, they stated that they would be charged for Friday evening also.
There was no reaso for being charged for that day, they were told that if that situation arose, there would be no charge for the extra night.
I have stayed there before and I was there myself on Tuesday night, prior to surgery. I am very dissapointed in the action to being charged for the extra night, even when told otherwise.
I would hope for a reply to this email, and hopefully a apology for this incident.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Traverse City

Address: 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Traverse City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.