We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #21 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Niles, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel the Friday after Thanksgiving and the room was very nice and spacious. Got a great deal on the room. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was alittle of a pain carrying items up the stairs, but no big deal. We did not have breakfast, but looked like a typical continental breakfast. Staff was very helpful. Super location, close to the wineries we wanted to tour and also to many restaurants

Room Tip: If you have alot of luggage, try to get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    137
    61
    19
    9
See reviews for
92
126
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We took a trip around Lake Michigan, and learned about the Traverse City Cherry Festival was during this time as well. Hotel was very clean and in a decent area, located about 2 miles from the downtown area. The hotel was super expensive during the Cherry Festival time. I believe it was over $225 a night! And sold out too! Luckily though, I reserved the room in advance, and used my Wyndham Rewards points, so that made it worthwhile. The hotel lobby and lounge area looked fantastic, while the outside of the hotel was decent looking. The important part was the cable tv and internet signal were strong signals. Again, the hotel room was super clean, and maintained well. I would definitely stay here again. I stay at Wyndham Hotels over 25 days a year (Ramada, Days Inn, Super 8, Howard Johnson, etc) so I know what to expect. This hotel was definitely in the higher echelon in these type of hotels. So remember, if the prices are very high, use your Wyndham Rewards points!!! That makes the value worthwhile!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good location - close to Dennos Museum, Old Mission Wineries, and downtown. Stayed 3 nights- bed was made and trash removed but not too much cleaning was done daily. The curtains didn't close completely,so if you have trouble sleeping with light streaming in the room be sure to bring a mask. The water in the shower randomly changes temperature. Breakfast was very basic - bagels, yogurt, and sugar cereals. Thankfully there are a lot of good restaurants nearby. For the price you can't expect too much. While some HJ offer a slight discount if you stay multiple nights this one does not participate in that program.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Decided to take a couple day get-away to T.C. ... visit the brewerys, enjoy the shops... Couldn't believe the value offered by Howard Johnson. Newly renovated and beautiful. Great tiled bath with large walk-in shower...room was clean and good looking. The front office lounge/breakfast area was also redone and is a gift for travelers of all ages. Very nice continental breakfast. Staff on duty were continually upbeat, helpful and welcoming. Would stay again without question.

Room Tip: Hotel has two floors with exterior entrances that are well covered for the weather. Some constructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This HJ was recently renovated, there are a few spots outside the need to be finnished yet, loose carpet on the stairs was a trip hazard. Staff was great at check in. Room are new and very clean. The matress is a differeent story, very firm but stag in the middle, saw this in other comments also. Rooms could use and iron and iron board. Great value and very quiet. Lighting is poor in room and watch the water in the shower, it changes temp on its own.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Traverse City

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Howard Johnson Traverse City Hotel
Address: 417 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Traverse City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Traverse City Michigan. Our property has been completely remodeled and offers value with comfort that will exceed your expectations. We offer King Rooms with Jacuzzi Tubs, Complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, Free local & long distance calling and free Wi-Fi internet access. Sink into our new Simmons Beauty Rest Mattresses and enjoy a relaxing show on our large LCD flat screen televisions. Our award winning property is non-smoking and sparkling clean, as evidenced in our International Housekeeping Award for 2012. We are located one mile from Downtown Traverse City with all its attractions and shopping districts. Our stunning beaches are within walking distance so this property has everything on your checklist. Enjoy restaurant discounts and explore the nearby Wineries and Peninsula. Call us direct for your reservations today! Traverse City is a beautiful area to visit anytime of year, so we look forward to welcoming you as our guest. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity of accomplishing this with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.