We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to be a Pirate or Just relax sailing on the Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours

Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours
13258 S.W. Bay Shore Drive, Traverse City, MI 49684
+1 888-959-2655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 77 Activities in Traverse City
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us aboard the 114' SCHOONER MANITOU as we ply the sparkling waters of Grand Traverse Bay. Sailing out of Traverse City, MI, Manitou offers three two hour sails per day as well as an adventurous "Floating Bed and Breakfast" package.
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Want to be a Pirate or Just relax sailing on the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's always a FUN FUN time sailing on Grand Traverse Bay. Each adventure is a new one from the Smiling Captain Brendan to first Mate Corey who picks up a fiddle and starts playing amazing music. Kids and adults can pretend they are pirates, hoist the sales or ask the Captain what are those fuzzy things up in the rigging. We had a beautiful day with bright blue skies and a nice wind and darted through the waves and back and forth across the bay. Great view of the skyline of the city, and picking out the houses along the shore or dotted among the hills. Beverages are available for purchase. If there are kids who love ice-cream (or adults for that matter), sign up to sail on one of the Moomers' Ice-cream sails. YUMMmmmm.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A calm, peaceful, serene end to our trip to T.C.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We will always remember the Manitou ship we enjoyed towards the tail end of our 1-year wedding anniversary trip to TC. Friendly folks. Staff that play the violin with heavenly finesse. Some ice cream (or lunch depending on what you sign up for), and a fair price. This is a nice activity, especially towards the end of your trip. Very relaxing and also really cool to check the ship out. My wife and I chatted with a few folks, bought a couple beers and wines, and just enjoyed the scenery cruising in the Traverse City bay. Just a heads up that you park across the street from where you board, and get on a bus they provide, which is essentially there to help you cross the street. For young couples this may seem a hassle, but for families with small children, this ends up being a nice feature. There is nothing exhilarating about this ride, but it does make for a quiet, peaceful, scenic ride on the bay in what is probably one of the most classic and tallest sailboats to still cruise around here. Two thumbs up!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last time I was in Traverse City two years ago, with my son, we took an afternoon sail aboard the Manitou. It was a beautiful afternoon with a strong wind, less than capacity crowd, and an adventurous captain as we sailed fast and far out into the bay. It was an excellent adventure to say the least.
This time while visiting the area with my daughter I was hoping to relive the experience, but the only time we had available was Wednesday evening when they have the "entertainment" package. The experience was a disappointment to say the least. Though the wind was again strong (cold front moving in an the other smaller sail boats had hard time not capsizing), we never went farther north than the dock nor fast enough to excited about; in fact they never raised the middle sail. I suspect this was due to the fact that their "entertainment" (an older trio of folk singers) used the middle of the boat for their act. It was nice for my daughter to experience the ship, but she was bewildered as to why I would spend the money and time for such a mediocre experience. I guess I am too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire, MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant cruise: great for elderly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went on the wine sunset cruise with my 87-year-old mother-in-law. The weather was perfect, and we sailed about two hours around Grand Traverse Bay. Tickets were $60 each. We were never near the shore, and so the scenery was water and water (with a few boats). Though you could go inside, most or all of us sat on bench-like structures on the deck. The food was nice, and suitable to buffet presentation. We had hummus, babaganoush, baked brie in pastry, dolma, a ground lamb and rice dish, finished with brownies & lemon bars. Everything was served at the right temperature and tasty. We had 6 or 7 types of Leelanau Cellars wines to taste. I preferred the three dry wines, but I overheard others who preferred the sweet. There was some visual drama as the sails were raised and lowered, but everything was very well-run. The crew was likable and very helpful with my mother-in-law's walking & vision challenges. Passengers were allowed to take the wheel. Spirits seemed good. A few passengers stayed the night on the B&B plan.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Bed & Breakfast experience on the Manitou!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We sailed on 8/13/13. The crew was very friendly and knowledgable sailors. Great fun to chat with. The wine tasting and dinner was a lot of fun and very tastey. It was quite windy the day we sailed, but that added greatly to the experience.

Be sure to dress warmly and consider at least a rain jacket (it is possible you may get wet).

Staying overnight was very enjoyable, with a wonderful breakfast (cooked on the wood burning stove) served in the galley. More plesant conversation with guests and crew. Just be aware, though, if you have any notion that you might get motion sickness, don't plan on sleeping on the boat. Or at least take proper precautions to try and combat this. The constant gentle rocking can be worse than actually sailing on a somewhat rough bay.

Highly recommend!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Ship Manitou - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.