We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer On The Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windjammer On The Lake
Save
You added Windjammer On The Lake to your Saves list
469 Peninsula Trail, Traverse City, MI 49696   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband, adult daughter and I headed up to Spider Lake this past weekend for some rest and relaxation. The lake is absolutely beautiful and I hope to return soon. The Windjammer cabins are clean and well supplied and the grounds are well maintained. The kayaks and paddle boats are accessible for all and it was great fun to get out on the lake. For family reunions or families with young children, this would definitely be a 5 star resort as the cabins, grounds and beach are set up perfectly for children and family groups.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our group of 5 had a fantastic time at the Windjammer Resort on Spider Lake. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. Theresa and Keith were more than hospitable and friendly to our group! The whole area is very clean and organized. They create a relaxed, friendly, and comfortable environment! This was my second vacation there and I plan for more in the future!
Lori G.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at Windjammer Resort in June. We rented a few cabins for family and friends. We especially enjoyed the nightly gatherings around the firepit with the beautiful views of the Spider Lake and the moon. We got plenty of use of the kayaks.The managers, Theresa and Keith, made us feel so welcome. We couldn't of asked for a better time. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I just returned from the Windjammer on Spider Lake. My family had an absolutely GREAT weekend. The accommodations were excellent and the service was wonderful. We were each greeted by Theresa and made very comfortable and welcome. She couldn't have been a better host. She was very aware of our needs and actually anticipated them before we could say anything.
I would definitely recommend this resort to others and in fact, already have. We had two cabins and both were very clean and well stocked.
Thank you to Theresa and her family for all their hard work. You made our vacation a delight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 great days at Spider Lake. Cabin # 3 was well furnished and fits for up to 6-7 people.
We enjoyed the lake view and the possibility to have a own barbecue in front of each cabin.
Michele was very helpful with the booking, providing us with a heater etc. and making certain everything is alright.

We can definitely recommend this place if you want to spend some relaxing days near Traverse City.

It's perfect for families as well as for people who just want to be off the beaten tourist track.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Windjammer Resort Cottages on Spider Lake is a wonderful place to stay!

First of all, in booking over the phone with Michelle, I just felt an amazing warmth and welcoming I immediately knew that the Windjammer was going to be a 'special place' to stay while we did our transition from Florida to our new residency in Traverse City.

We were greeted by Theresa and Keith, the groundskeepers, who couldn't have been more genuinely nice and accommodating. A special gift package for new Taverse City residents, with wine and cheese, candy apple makings awaited us in our cabin (Cabin number 2) on our arrival, filled with all sorts of guides and maps outlining what was going on in Traverse City, a package from the City of Traverse welcoming new residents.. This was just a very unique and thoughful unexpected surprize all arranged by the Windjammer owner and their groundkeepers...just as an act of random kindness..

We stayed at the Windjammer, during the off season, for three months on a month to month basis. We just couldn't have selected a better place to stay. Arriving in October, we would nightly stand out by the large inviting firepit circle with the other vactioners there and collectively gasp at the wonderful sunsets over Spyder Lake..

The firepit, the sunsets, and good conversation with people who came to the Windjammer Resort to enjoy long weekends and short stays and take in the natural beauty of Traverse City was a highlight for us. Because we arrived in October, we were all able to talk to the other vacationers around the firepit about the beauty of the fall trees and the various wineries and the cool downtown shops and restraunts. And we felt special because we were living at the resort!!! Life just couldn't get much better. The starry clear nights through the trees, the peace, the deer walking through the parking area!!! Wow.

Then for the winter months. I have never experienced winter. It was unbelievably beautiful. Any and all needs were taken care of by Keith and Theresa. And there were a few of us who were then residing there during some transition in our lives....and it was a wonderful home.

Well because we liked the Resort so much and felt we had made great friends with all who stayed there..... we had to find our new house near Spyder Lake we decided, once our house sold in Florida. We did.....but we miss the resort and all the new friends we could be making....but we still drop in on Keith and Michelle just to say hi.

So, for anyone who wants to find a great place to live during the off season for a very reasonable price....I couldn't recommend a better place to stay. And we had a dog, a cat and a bird, and our pet deposit was promptly returned once Keith and Michelle checked out how well we maintained and cleaned our cabin.

So, I was grateful for my stay there...it is a 'special place'.and I couldn't recommend it any higher for both the off season renter and during the high season....well you will be on the most beautiful part of Spyder Lake! Be sure to enjoy the firepit sunsets.

Room Tip: There are many cabins there all at diffrent rates.. The really nice cabin overlooking the resort wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First of all, the location is amazing! The cabins surround a shared fire pit that overlook the Spider Lakes, and it looks absolutely gorgeous in the morning. The cabin itself has a rustic charm that we loved. The place was well-lit and clean. We were in cabin 7 and there was a living room space, a kitchen, and three bedrooms--way more space than necessary for 2 people. Each cabin has its own grill outside by the deck; we made good use of this by making our own burgers and grilling them by the lake. As spacious as the cabin was, it felt cozy and comfortable too--we enjoyed the privacy it provided (unlike typical sterile-feeling hotels/motels). Just the location itself is worth coming back to.

Second of all, the service was fantastic! We called last minute asking about their availability, and Michelle was able to provide us with great service at such a late hour. She contacted Theresa to make sure that everything with the cabin was ready for us when we got there. The website stated that we would need to bring our own sheets and towels, however, because it was so last minute for us, we didn't have any of these. Michelle was really accommodating and made sure Theresa could round up everything we needed. She then later followed up by texting us to make sure everything was taken care of before she went to sleep. We really appreciated the level of concern on Michelle's end. And when we met Theresa, she was just as friendly and hospitable as Michelle--we felt like real guests in someone's home rather than just some customers receiving service.

Everything about the Windjammer is wonderful. If you're looking for a change of pace, for something a little more peaceful where you can forget about the stress of work (or whatever), we absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer On The Lake

Address: 469 Peninsula Trail, Traverse City, MI 49696
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer On The Lake Resort and Cabin Rentals OPEN ALL YEAR(9 CABINS)is located on beautiful Spider Lake 10 miles southeast of Traverse City. Prime acreage, southern exposure,160'lake frontage, pet friendly offer a relaxing and scenic atmosphere for family reunions, families, couples,bussiness, or just friends. Boaters welcome. The resort can sleep 46-56 guest's. There is a Log Home (2009), 3 Log Cabins (2001), 5 Original Cabins. Prices vary. 160'frontage on Spider Lake with boat dock and nearby boat launch-Sandy Beach and Swimming, Large Fire Pit, Sun Deck overlooking Spider Lake. Row boats,kayaks, paddle boat, and pontoon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer On The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.