We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer On The Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windjammer On The Lake
469 Peninsula Trail, Traverse City, MI 49696   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Saginaw, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are always hesitant when we book a new place site unseen, but we were PLEASANTLY surprised when we arrived.

We stayed in Rustic Cabin #4 - it was clean, mostly well maintained and perfect for the two of us + a small dog.

Keith and Theresa are on site at all times to assist with any requests, and Michelle was GREAT at the reservation process. Even helped us rent a pontoon when theirs was not available.

Will definately stay here again - great place for a family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed in Cabin #5 at the Windjammer Resort. It was spectacular! The cottage and area was spotless! Felt we could move in without any hesitation. We had three small children with us and felt very comfortable! The owners, Michele and Paul and the managers, Theresa and Keith felt like family by the end of our four day visit! The beach was perfect for the little ones and the big ones had a ball on the deeper water! Fire pits, balconies, decks, full kitchens were just some of the offerings! Will return there in a minute!!!!!! Even got over to the casino 25 minutes away!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Log Home and it was incredible. Beautiful home that was spotless upon our arrival. There was plenty of room for all of us (7 adults, 2 children and 1 dog). Everyone loved it. The property was gorgeous. We all wished we could stay longer. We will definitely be back and definitely recommend this resort to anyone

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

When we started planning our family vacation, we had to make some tough choices. Some of us really like camping and one of us (Mom) strongly prefers hotels. So we searched for a place where we could vacation that was somewhere in between.

We chose Windjammer Resort and had a great time! The atmosphere was very family friendly and we look forward to going back again someday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in cabin #8, which was spotless, comfortably furnished, and modern. It has a master bedroom and another bedroom with bunk beds, along with a pullout couch. It has a large balcony overlooking the lake. The lake is very clean and the small resort is quiet. The manager is responsive to your needs and friendly. Overall, it was a wonderful week in Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed in cabin number 7. It is a 3 bedroom cabin. It has a queen size bed and in the other two rooms were two bunk beds. The carpet is not in the greatest condition but the rest of the cabin has a very excellent clean modern look. The kitchen and the living room are all one great room. There is a beautiful view of Spider Lake. This was a great place to vacation. They have a cleaning staff that really prepared our cabin with a nice clean bathroom and the Manager Ken was very accomadating and is in the process of getting the cabins in good shape. We have read the reviews and understood that what was in the past was mismanaged. That was not the case when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

First we arrived in cabin 8 and everything looked great. But when we started to move in, we started realizing things most of the classes to drink out of where not washed. Our screen door would not lock. our TV took 1 minute to turn on and when it did all the colors were red.

You may do what you want, but I would suggest for you to save your money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#7 of 38 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
7.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
5.0 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
7.2 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#22 of 38 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
7.1 mi away
Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
7.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Four Seasons
#10 of 38 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer On The Lake

Address: 469 Peninsula Trail, Traverse City, MI 49696
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer On The Lake Resort and Cabin Rentals OPEN ALL YEAR(9 CABINS)is located on beautiful Spider Lake 10 miles southeast of Traverse City. Prime acreage, southern exposure,160'lake frontage, pet friendly offer a relaxing and scenic atmosphere for family reunions, families, couples,bussiness, or just friends. Boaters welcome. The resort can sleep 46-56 guest's. There is a Log Home (2009), 3 Log Cabins (2001), 5 Original Cabins. Prices vary. 160'frontage on Spider Lake with boat dock and nearby boat launch-Sandy Beach and Swimming, Large Fire Pit, Sun Deck overlooking Spider Lake. Row boats,kayaks, paddle boat, and pontoon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer On The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Windjammer On The Lake to your Saves list