We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware! Overpriced and noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Traverse City to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canton, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware! Overpriced and noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Traverse City get away tarnished by accommodations that were cramped, overpriced, and resounded with every noise from adjoining rooms and hallway. Children running in the hallways late into the night. Where were the parents? The beds, however, are comfortable as advertised. Definitely would not stay here again. Other accommodations in area much better value. Don't be detered by upscale appearance-inquire about rates.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
79
105
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Our Family of 4 (two teens) had a marvelous stay at the Comfort Inn Traverse City. We got a great price on a two room suite, with 2 amazing flat screen cable TVs, a queen bed for each kid and a king for us. The hot tub was perfect and the Big Breakfast filled us up for a long time. The weather didn't cooperate, but when we asked the kids about leaving...they said.."no, one more night...we love this hotel".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Our goal was to see the local sites, not to stay in a hotel. The front desk staff facilitated this goal by being extremely knowledgeable about places to eat, places to see, and the best route of getting there. The front desk staff was personable with acute insight to our wants and needs.
The breakfast was also fabulous. Excellent selection, and a great way to start out a day of adventure.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

We had an excellent two night weekend stay at the Comfort Inn, Traverse City on Munson Avenue. It was clean, quiet, with a nice included continental breakfast in the AM. The staff, from the front desk, to the cleaners, were friendly. This hotel is Smoke-Free which only added to our enjoyment. The hotel is in a convenient location on the corner of 8th street and Munson Ave (Hwy 31) in Traverse City. We were able to access the Tart trail and the Old Mission Pennisula for bicycling. From this location, you can bike into mid-town. This city is very bicycle friendly. There are several restaurants near by. The only negative thing that could be said about this hotel is the price. But I guess that's the price you pay for a decent place to stay these days.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

This Comfort Inn is one of the cleanest I've been in. They have huge LCD screens in the rooms, fitness area, lobbies, etc. The Fitness Center had "Precor" exercise equipment which is top of the line. The breakfast bar was great... hot foods & sliced oranges & grapefruit. The staff was very friendly & helpful (Thanks, Missi & Paul). The room was clean & had a jacuzzi. We'd stay there again! : )

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

As others have said----great staff, wonderful breakfast, large rooms that were clean and in working order (and with CFLs in the light fixtures which earns points in my book). Best place to stay in TC!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

I travel for business and stay in hotels for 300 nights a year and the staff at this Hotel are the friendliest and most accommondating I have ever seen. They are pleasant to deal with and always have a smile and a big Hello. The rooms are nice and large. If your ever in Traverse City, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Address: 460 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.