We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality & Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Traverse City to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality & Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Well worth the price - nice room, very friendly staff, great decor, comfortable bed, HDTV and great breakfast! Toping it off was a free shuttle to the Cherry Festival and excellent knowledge of restaurants and area activities. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    77
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
105
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for one night during the Cherry Festival. Staff at check-in was very friendly and helpful. Loved the pool but wish it was more private--felt like we were on display because hotel guests have to walk by its windows to go to the front desk, breakfast, out the door to the parking lot, etc. Rooms are fairly basic but had everything we needed. Comfortable beds. Our 2nd floor room was very quiet. Breakfast had the standard choices, with my son's favorite: make-your-own waffles. GREAT location--very close to downtown but not in the middle of the traffic madness. Convenient to downtown TC, Old Mission Peninsula, and many great restaurants. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I and another couple booked a stay while visiting Traverse City recently. This is our fourth stay at this hotel which has become my personal favorite in Traverse City. Rates are reasonable, the hotel is very clean and is conveniently located to the downtown area and local attractions. Rooms have been updated, and I was impressed with the overall "quality" feel of the room. I am a "Choice Privileges Elite Gold" member, and regularly stay at Choice Hotels. This is, perhaps, one of the best Comfort Inns that I have stayed at. What really sets this hotel apart from all of the others, is the level of service provided by the hotel staff. They have a great staff! From the moment you arrive at the front desk, your are made to feel very special. The front desk staff is courteous and professional, and will go out of their way to make your visit as pleasurable as possible. Shortly after you arrive at your room, you will receive a call from the desk to ensure that you are happy with your room, or if any further assistance is required. Everyone is friendly, and you can expect to be greeted by the entire staff including service employees and housekeeping staffs. I'm hard-pressed to come up with anything negative to say about this hotel. If you are looking for a good hotel with reasonable rates and an excellent staff, than you may wish to consider booking here. It will be a wise "Choice!"

Room Tip: Rooms near Munson Avenue may have a little road noise. Not too bad, but if you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is my favorite place to stay on business. Clean, reasonable, convenient. I have been staying here for years now and will continue to do so. Very well updated is the biggest reason for me to stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

From start to finish, we were extremely impressed with this hotel! When we arrived, we were able to get our roomright away, despite being several hours before the official check in time. The room itself was nicely updated and spacious and the fridge and microwave were a great touch. The rooms were extremely clean as well.

One thing that really set this hotel apart from others was the friendliness of the staff. Always approachable and smiling, every single person we passed in the hallway said "hi! Good morning!"

I don't usually leave reviews for hotels but this entire visit really stood out to me. I'm leaving this review today before we have even checked out! We will definitely stay here again.

Tip: use the rear exit, onto 8th St to head downtown. It's only a 5 minute drive and you avoid the Munson/ front street traffic!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My elderly aunt and I (yup, I'm pretty elderly, too, compared to some of you) stayed at the Comfort Inn while visiting family in Traverse City, MI. We were totally satisfied. The front desk got us to our room in no time with smiles and accurate directions. The room was scrupulously clean and well-appointed. There hotel was filled with families with children, but the rooms were quiet - no sound leakage between rooms. The pool was clean and safe for children.
Next morning, we were pleased with the ample breakfast - eggs (scrambled and hard boiled), sausage, yogurt, bagels and muffins and breads. The usual cereals and oatmeal, of course. The big draw was the waffle machine. There were 2 flavors, traditional and strawberry. As a nice touch, the was a strawberry compote to top off the waffle creations.
We managed to leave some clothes in the closet, but they were mailed to us promptly after one phone call.
I was totally happy at this hotel and recommend it to anyone - singles, families, and seniors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm a hotel snob - Four Season, Fairmont resorts. I was extremely pleased with the accommodations at the Comfort Inn. The rooms were clean, updated and attractive. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and responsive. The fitness room equipment was new and in top condition. The variety of breakfast items and cleanliness was impressive. The best part was the complimentary shuttle that took you not only to and from the hotel, but between locations downtown if they were able. It couldn't have been a better stay. I have already recommended it to others who are planning a trip up north and plan to book there again rather than what are considered some of the fancier or more expensive hotels. The value of the stay made it an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Address: 460 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.