We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Traverse City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   460 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodbury, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in an accessible room. The room actually was a suite with a queen bed room attached to a large king bedroom. The room had a large bathroom with a roll in shower. Everything was spotless and beautifully decorated. Our room was next to the breakfast room and the lobby, which we found to be very convenient. My wife is very picky about hotel breakfasts, but loved the choices here, especially the Cadillac coffee. My only suggestion for the room is to add some easy chairs or a recliner, as there is no comfy place to sit. We were right next to the lobby, and it had nice seating and a fireplace. The hotel is not on the water, but is in a pleasant wooded area convenient to downtown and the waterfront. Overall, we found this to be one of the best places we have stayed, at any price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Comfort Inn and taking the time to share your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! In addition, thank you for pointing out a couple of items that could make the stay better. This feedback is very important and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    70
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
74
97
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in a handicap accessible room on the second floor near the elevator. My husband doesn't walk well, but isn't wheelchair bound. The room was large, very quiet in spite of the elevator being close, and quite clean. I imagine that a wheelchair could get around fine in the room. Bed was comfortable and we both slept well. The bathroom with walk-in shower was huge. The shower had a small lip, which may make it difficult for wheelchair access, but it had a large, fold down bench. My only complaint is that the breakfast room is too small for the size of the hotel. We actually took our food to our room the first morning after waiting for a table to open for about 15 minutes. The breakfast itself was good with many cold and some typical hot selections. I particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit - orange and grapefruit slices, whole apples, bananas, and oranges.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and stay at the Traverse City Comfort Inn. We strive to make our property your home away from home while visiting the area. The staff looks foward to all of your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent two weeks in Michigan, arrived home this past Tuesday. Stayed in a variety of hotels in a variety of places. Comfort Inn in Traverse was by far the most expensive but by no means the best. Even in Mack City prices were way lower for equal, if not better, accommodations. We would not return to the Comfort Inn in Traverse. The next night we were in Grand Rapids where an art festival was in full swing. Again, had excellent accommodations at a hotel just steps from Meijer Cardens at a fraction of the Comfort Inn costs. I just don't buy the "high season" argument. Traverse Comfort Inn is not a new building. It is older but has been rebuilt at a recent date. Room was adequate but not special. Breakfast was adequate but not special.

Green Features: Disposables ought not be used in breakfast room - at high prices for lodging surely washables could be provided.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The motel was nice and clean. There was no closet but rather a large wardrobe/fridge/coffee ctr. at the far end of the room next to a bed on the window wall farthest from the entry door. It was quite a strange arrangement and a pretty tight squeeze to open as it was right next to one of two beds. It was not convenient to a water supply for the coffee pot. Odd placement.

Room Tip: The room was fine. Asking for a room away from the main road would be quieter but it was not a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you're a Choice Hotel person and want a clean place to stay with great customer service, you may want to check this one out.

Nice welcome bag with water and snack....good breakfast...FREE SHUTTLE (and if Janelle is your driver, she's super sweet) that will take you to local restaurants, etc.....

We will be back!

One tip...choose top floor....our upstairs neighbors were a bit loud and seemed to tap dance most of the night so we were a little sleepless.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage reusing sheets and towels for multiple night stays.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dowagiac, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very convenient location to Old Mission Peninsula for wine tasting and downtown TC. We were there on a Sunday so the town was very quiet. The desk clerk was not very informed on what to do or see in the area since this was our first time there. We ended up going to Old Mission Peninsula for wine tasting.
The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good. Our cable lost signal in the morning but we were leaving anyway. We were looking for something reasonably priced for one night and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Traverse City

Address: 460 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Traverse City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award winning Comfort Inn of Traverse City is 100% smoke free, serves a free hot breakfast, and has an indoor pool and spa that is open 24 hours. Every room has a 40 inch flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Located just blocks from downtown Traverse City with easy access from both US 31 and Eighth Street. Hospitality room available for you group or family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.