We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Natural Education Reserve

Grand Traverse Natural Education Reserve
Boardman River, Traverse City, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Attractions in Traverse City
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reserve, famous for its diversity of plant and animal species, offers guided hikes with various educational themes.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A secret gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have been to traverse city many times but never here. This past April was different. Not far from town. What a lovely surprise. A great visitor center and terrific walking paths. Snow was still on the ground when we were here in April 2014. Quiet and serene. We plan to go back again this sept 2014. Make a point tovisit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We took our dog and we all had a great time! The path is skinny but never muddy due to all of the wooden planks and bridges along the way. We saw SO MUCH wildlife! Had a great time! (We only did 7-14)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hiking Trails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went on a Sunday and the place was closed but the hiking trails are great. They go along the Boardman River, some trail, some boardwalk over swamps. Beware, there are lots of stairs!
Bird life is abundant, and the secrecy truly beautiful. The state is going to replace one of the dams on the Boardman, and because of this has lowered the water level. However, this does not really detract from anything except fishing.
ZB

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“5 Miles From Downtown; A Million Miles From Front St”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Grand Traverse Natural Education Reserve provides 6 hiking & xc-ski trails totaling 7 miles to explore more than 500-acres of pristine natural areas along The Boardman River. There are several trail-head parking areas along Cass & Keystone Roads.

The Boardman River Nature Center (http://natureiscalling.org/explore/nature-center) is located within the preserve on Cass Rd (less than 5 miles from downtown!) and offers numerous educational opportunities for young & old. Free admission, open Tues-Fri, 10 AM - 4 PM (and some Saturdays)

These are some of the prettiest river trails & offer excellent opportunities for viewing wildlife. Some trails have stairs, but others are wheelchair accessible. There are numerous viewing platforms, wooden boardwalks & bridges along several of the Boardman River's tributaries.

There are also some good swimming holes for cooling off on hot days (Oleson Bridge trailhead on Keystone Rd is a favorite for locals). Leashed dogs are welcome. No bikes on trails.

More info & trail maps available here:
http://natureiscalling.org/parkland/grand-traverse-natural-education-reserve/

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We signed up for a spring break peepers class online and had a great visit. My 5 year old had fun singing, crafting, hiking and learning about nature. The older boys did a scavenger hunt and we were all educated and entertaining. The facility is beautiful. The workers were all gracious and cheerful. A great find!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Natural Education Reserve also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Natural Education Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Natural Education Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.