We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“god but limited” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant House Bakery II

Pleasant House Bakery II
9 N. Elm Street, Three Oaks, MI 49128
269-756-3600
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Three Oaks
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“god but limited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went here while staying in the area. At our table of 4, we each chose a different pie and shared tastes. All were quite good. Their offerings are pretty limited to a range of savory pies and a few sides. Would have liked to see a set of salads to complement the heaviness of the meat pies. The beers brewed here were satisfactory but not equal to those of most larger craft brewpubs. The interior is simple and clean without much in the way of decor beyond the period architecture itself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious addition to Three Oaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pleasant House is a very welcome addition to the Three Oaks dining scene, since it is a great option for dinner. The specialty is savory 'pies', similar to a pot pie or Cornish pasty.
The menu is limited but that is because they focus on what they do extremely well.
There a variety of pies to choose from (beef, chicken, pork, or vegetarian) plus a few salads, soups, and desserts.

The husband and I both had the chicken curry pie which was delicious. The crust was flaky and flavorful and the fillings delicious. The portion size (and price!) is just right as well.
A wonderful surprise also was the salad. The greens and tomatoes were so fresh, right from the Pleasant House farm, and the tomatoes were some of the best I've tasted in ages. Amazingly good!

Stop in to this place for yummy food, a cheerful atmosphere, and friendly service (not to mention the tasty beers brewed on-site).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Master of the Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Royal Pies at Pleasant House in the town of Three Oaks, Michigan are brilliant. Located on the inward side of the southwestern shore of Lake Michigan, Pleasant House looks like what I imagine a neighborhood restaurant in Buckleberry to be with the Middleton’s sitting at the next table. The pies served at Pleasant House take their inspiration from the British-style baked pasty (pasties), a traditional pastry crust filled with meat and/or vegetables. The Royal Pies at Pleasant House resemble a pot pie but with a light, buttery, flaky crust that melts in your mouth. With a choice of fillings that include steak & ale, chicken, and mushroom & kale, the menu at Pleasant House - Three Oaks is comforting, innovative, simple and satisfying.We had the Chicken Balti Royal Pie with a light touch of curry and a side of chutney and the Steak Pasty with potato, rutabaga and onion. The hospitable wait staff told us that the ingredients were locally sourced including the wine and the beer was from their on-site brewery (which we were told they hope to expand). A tomato and burrata cheese salad to begin and an apricot custard tart to end, we left feeling like we had spent a day in the English countryside.

P.S. If you are in the city there is a Pleasant House in Chicago’s Bridgeport neighborhood

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Traditional Fayre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Being a big fan of the Chicago Pleasant House Bakery, we were looking forward to a quick day trip to Three Oaks, MI to check out the second location. The location is perfect for the traditional vibe of the food, the star standout being the Royal Pies. Our visit was only one month after opening but already the decor, service, and menu were spot on. Do check out their own ales crafted on premise. I expect the menu and bar service to expand as time progresses. The quality of the food is exceptional and the service is genuine and staff are friendly. If you are in the area this place should become your local pub. If you are in Chicago and looking for a nice side trip, go to Three Oaks to check out the stores and then replenish yourselves at Pleasant House Bakery before your trip back home. Cheers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A Taste of Jolly Olde....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The Pleasant House recently opened in Three Oaks and serves a limited menu of British savory pies, salads, sides, and their very good hand crafted ales and sodas. We made a three generational visit for an early dinner (around 5 PM), and all ages found the eatery to be an excellent choice. Most of us had the Steak and Ale pie, and thoroughly enjoyed the flaky crust and rich steak, carrot and ale gravy filling. One member of our party had the mushroom and kale pie and pronounced it was delicious. Our youngest diners (ages 8 and 9) had the home made Ginger Fizz soda, and I was surprised at their enthusiasm for the drinks, I thought the ginger would only appeal to adults, but they loved it. The adults all tried the house made Ale and also the Stout and were very impressed. Pleasant House should be on your list of restaurants to try out in the Michiana area, especially if you enjoy British steak and ale pies and hand crafted ales.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasant House Bakery II also viewed

Three Oaks, Berrien County
Three Oaks, Berrien County
 
Three Oaks, Berrien County
Three Oaks, Berrien County
 

Been to Pleasant House Bakery II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant House Bakery II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.