We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Crystal Mountain Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Mountain to your Saves list
Crystal Mountain
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
“We love Crystal Mountain Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We love the Crystal Mountain Resort. My kids love the alpine slide. The resort has many activities available bike rental, pool, paintball, climbing wall, spa... so it is easy to find something that appeals to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    88
    16
    10
    3
See reviews for
228
102
7
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Crystal Mountain Resort and Spa is a real success story in itself. The ski resort has transformed itself in recent years into a year-round vacation destination that caters to families. My wife and I (in our late 40's) and our 11-year-old and 13-year-old boys visited in early August on the suggestion of my brother Tom. We found the drive from Kalamazoo to Thompsonville, MI quite doable, even with the young brothers getting cranky in close quarters. Reservations were made with a phone call and went smoothly. Our arrival was a cheery affair, however our room was not ready when expected. We chose the "last minute family" plan that includes a number of activities for which there are normally charges. The catch? Most activities are only good after 3pm. From the selection of included activities we chose: The Alpine Slide and a round of golf. The Alpine Slide is a unique downhill experience whereby one sits on a small go-cart-like vehicle that rides in a long winding plastic track. We found it speedy and fun for all. We added ($29) Paintball. We took a ride up the mountain on the ski lift (great views) and enjoyed live music at the top of the hill. We did not try out the dining choices, opting for pizza and subs from the on-site shop and eating on the run. We spent time swimming and went for a long walk. A must see is the Michigan Art Legacy Hiking/Walking Park. The compound is conveniently laid out and exceptionally clean and friendly. There are just a few things we'd like to see before awarding a "five-star" rating, including a good cup of coffee and maybe a breakfast nook (hey, if Days Inn can do it... ). In all a very good stay for $208 per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We travel to Crystal Mountain every August to enjoy nice family getaway in beautiful northern Michigan. Crystal Mountain has everything a family needs...a great kid's program, lots of activities, water park, climbing wall, alpine slides, movies after dark, bike rentals, golf including family golf nights with discounted rates, and more. Lake Michigan is only 30 minutes away for beach fun. For the adults, Crystal Mountain offers fitness activities and a great fitness center with classes, a gorgeous spa, restaurants, and golfing. There are many types of accommodations to meet every family's need. The best of all is the amazing, courteous staff. The staff at Crystal never disappoints! We look forward to our trip every year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We had an otherwise fine family vacation consistently interrupted by poor service from college or college-age service in various capacities (pool staff, ticketing staff, restaurant staff). Acceptable service from older service. We stayed in a cottage, which we found acceptable given the price we paid.

Crystal Mountain is as family friendly as it gets and has above average resort food, family activities and grounds, but will need to have universally professional, or at least mature, customer-facing staff in order to be considered a star attraction.

One example of the generally "off" customer service, in the main breakfast restaurant "Wild Tomato" one morning, one of the two dining rooms was closed to guests. The hostess indicated the owner of Crystal Mountain was having an important breakfast meeting in there, forcing his guests to all dine in the one open room. I thought that was weird and lame.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Clean rooms, very friendly staff. Alpine slide was fun.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We had a terrific week at Crystal Mountain. The location is beautiful. So much to do. My kids loved the alpine slide! The resort is very clean and the service is great. We can't wait to return next year!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We joined my husband at Crystal Mountain where he attended a professional confernence. A great experience--terrific accommodations and tons of fun things to do with the kids. Great food at the restaurants.

A trip to the beach a Frankfort is a wonderful day trip worth taking--and close by.

Family golf night on Wednesday night is a MUST for families with kids that enjoy golf (even beginners).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer – 36 holes of championship golf, 45 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.