We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent skiing without going to the bank!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Mountain to your Saves list
Crystal Mountain
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fox Lake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent skiing without going to the bank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I have always loved Crystal Mt. skiing.
This particular ski resort offers affordable deals during the last month of skiing. After comparing pricing at other MI resorts, Crystal Mountain was the only affordable 4-day ski vacation. It has excellent facility options and 48 multi-level slopes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    98
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
249
112
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Charming small village atmosphere, with great service. Highly recommned this resort, as this was the second time we have been here within the last 3 years. The staff truly goes out of their way to accomodate you.

Room Tip: The Inn is close to pool and hill, and is a suite. Cottages at the Glen are just as close, and rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice accomodations, we have stayed in the resort homes, the cottages and Kinlochen-all great. Excellent service, compact, great ski instructors for the kids. We will go back again. The hills are great for families to ski together, and its the perfect size for the kids to be a little independent on the hill, but we can still find them easily. We ski all day, a few hours every night, have never had time to try the Spa, but the pool is nice too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at the Pinehurst condo and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. The skiing was great and all the staff are so polite and helpful....it's practically impossible not to have a great time when at Crystal Mountain.
Definitely looking forward to going back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My family of 4 stayed in the Hamlet building which had an amazing view of the high speed lift and mountain. The room was very spacious and we never felt crowded. The kids loved the large bathroom and especially the Jacuzzi tub! Such a pretty place with great lifts and amazing skiing for all levels. We ranged from slightly more advanced beginners to intermediate levels, and there was something for everyone. Our favourite side of the mountain was the north face because of the runs through the woods, so beautiful. A wonderful bonus to staying here was the ski lockers right outside the hotel rooms at the base of the mountain - loved not having to lug the gear up and down stairs! The rooms were quiet at night so we all had a good nights rest. The food at the Thistle Pub was yummy - I could get some wonderful vegetarian dishes while my husband could eat his meat dishes and great food for my picky eaters as well. I highly recommend this resort for families who love to ski.

Room Tip: The Hamlet building is closest to skiing and the rooms are bigger than the Colony hotel. Best value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful three days of accommodation and skiing. The services here are excellent and the staff is the friendliest and most efficient you'll find anywhere! Crystal Mountain is rejuvenating! This resort is outstanding in every respect.

Room Tip: Winter Green Condos are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I've gone to Crystal every year since I was little. I'm now 34 with two boys of my own and they love Crystal as much as I do. Crystal's employees are ALL so nice and helpful, all the time. We usually book our trip during the "stay one night get one free" with unlimited skiing. You can't beat the price, and we've never had an issue with weather being towards the end of the season. Overall, LOVE!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer – 36 holes of championship golf, 45 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.