We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1250 for one night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Mountain

Save Saved
You added Crystal Mountain to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Mountain
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids Sleep & Eat FREE
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Thompsonville
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1250 for one night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Everything was wonderful except I did find some inconsistencies with the lodging rates. We rented a four bedroom home (Club #2) for one night that included ski packages for seven of us for &1542.00. When I asked what the rate of that home was for lodging only (since some of is didn't end up skiing), we were quoted $1250 for one night checking in at 5 pm and checking out at 11 am, which means we paid for lodging alone close to $70 per hour. I find this to be very expensive for wood paneled, older rental homes with upgraded decor. Yes, it was very spacious and very clean and we did get lift tickets with the 1541, but it was pricey for the amount of time we were we able to spend there. Staff was great but skip the ski lessons. Our guy Was not into teaching nor was he encouraging or positive and really did not teach our daughter's friend anything.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    79
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
213
91
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Crystal Mountain ski school for kids is top quality. Each instructor knows how to work with kids. They communicate a love of skiing to the kids as well as all the instruction they need to grow in ther skills.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a ski trip. We stayed at the Wintergreen condos. The condo was well decorated. All the comfort of home. Did I say I love this place. It's family owned and it understands that making memories with your family is what it's about. Our family happens to be our therapy dog. He was well received through out the resort. This place is very different then some other resorts in northern lower Michigan. Great job from customer service to upkeep of grounds and buildings. Thanks for making this place look like heaven on earth.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Extended family of 7....ages 10 weeks to 59 years....great time for everyone. Some went skiing, some visited the spa for a message and a facial...3 yr old loved the activities, too! We listened to storytelling in the inn, built a bear with new found friends, too. We stayed in the Wintergreen Condo's. We loved it there. We cooked our own meals....easier with small kids. It was snowy and cold....good skiing conditions. We brought a sled to pull grandkids around, and we're glad we did.

Room Tip: Wintergreen Condo's are in a great spot to enjoy all the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The front desk staff was really good. Loved the jaccuzi tub and the kitchenette. It was more beautiful at night. Pack some food before you head out there, because apart from the restaurant inside, there's nothing nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Spent the weekend of Jan 25th at Crystal Mt with my family skiing or snowboarding. The weather was horrible, freezing and windy but the woman at check in gave us free lift tickets for an extra day. The lift operators were very friendly as was the woman at the registration desk. However one of the ski patrol men was extremely rude. He refused to give his name after swearing at my son. The ski patrol guy didn't realize I was behind him during his rant. We have gone to the resort every other year for the past 8 years and have always had an amazing time. We stayed at one of the town homes on the mountainside. It was just starting to show some signs of wear...kitchen counters had a few scratches, carpeting on the stairs showing signs of some wear, but all-in-all a very nice accommodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in 705 this time, a middle unit. If you need a bigger space for dining and downstairs bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

When your family is hit with the devastating news that one of them have an incurable form of cancer; life changes. When that family member is 1% of the world’s population that beats the cancer; life really changes. You soon realize that Christmas presents under the tree don’t mean anything. What really matters is creating unforgettable memories with your family and enjoying time together. Crystal Mountain met and exceeded this for us being the back drop of an incredible experience. It is a beautiful resort that lets you relax the moment you arrive. It fosters the idea of family time. From the ski hills (no its not Whistler but its fun) to the horse drawn wagon rides to the little scavenger hunts throughout the village, it is an incredible place. The staff is incredible and very polite. The resort has changed dramatically since I was last there as a young teenagers, but it has changed for the better. We rented two of the cottages in Wintergreen which turned out to be beautiful. Full kitchen, nice rustic living room and three spacious bedrooms. The best thing about these cottages is you get what you see. Most hotels and resorts take pictures of the rooms when they are brand new and in perfect condition….happily I can say you get exactly what you see in the picture. Overall I have to say this was an incredible trip hosted by an incredible resort. Thank you to all of the wonderful staff at Crystal Mountain for helping us make memories of a lifetime….we will be back!

Room Tip: Dont worry about what you book....it will be great. It is a bit on the high side of pricing and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer – 36 holes of championship golf, 45 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.