We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal Mountain to your Saves list
Crystal Mountain
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a wonderful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

we just returned from our 4th trip to crystal mountain and had a wonderful weekend. the room was clean and spacious. this is a perfect place for everyone, from the outdoors enthusiast to the casual vacationer. lodging options range from the inn (hotel) to private condominiums. the kids always have a blast at the mountain adventure zone. this time they participated in paintball and outdoor laser tag. last year we rode the alpine slide...caution...this can go VERY fast and you should watch your speed at the bottom of the course. the ski school is also fantastic. we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: only the inn has elevators for guests to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    98
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
249
112
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The air circulation in the rooms need work. Nothing dried in our room and things just stayed damp. The lounge chairs at the pool are hard and towels are too small. I felt like they could use another casual dining option on the grounds. The upside is that the property is beautiful and the gold courses are lovely. Service is excellent and the staff was very attentive. I traveled to crystal years ago and it has improved immensely since my last visit

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great time, great location, great accommodations, overall great time -- 31st Annual Crystal Mountain Golf Outing. Highly recommend for families and couples who like outdoor activities in a wonderful location. My wife has utilized the Spa and really enjoyed the facilities and the services, as well as the products purchased.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family has traveled here both in the winter for skiing and summer for golfing. We absolutely love the resort and plan to go back every year. The rooms and grounds are clean. Enjoyed the restaurants as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our niece was married on the mountain top. I got to play golf and my wife had a great time at the spa. We had lots of family time with relatives, our children and grandchildren. What a great place. The staff and services were excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite and we slept so sound. Never heard any noise from anywhere and the housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms were very clean and all the staff were extremely friendly. My only problem was the food was overpriced and there's not much else in the area to go to. I would recommend this as a great golf getaway for a group or for a fun family vacation. Lots of kid- friendly activities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Crystal Mountain for their Beer and Brat Fest and had a great time. Went with my wife and three little ones and found plenty for all to do: a rock climbing wall, a pool, the Crystal Coaster. Also took a drive to the coast on Lake Michigan...very beautiful. During the Fest itself the resort provided us with two very good babysitters (for a fee). With no little ones and plenty of beer, the Crystal Coaster became quite a thrill.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Mountain

Address: 12500 Crystal Mountain Drive, Thompsonville, MI 49683
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Benzie County > Thompsonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thompsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in coastal Benzie County, Crystal Mountain is the Midwest's premier four-season family resort featuring some of the finest accommodations northern Michigan has to offer – 36 holes of championship golf, 45 downhill slopes, 40km of cross-country trails, the award-winning Crystal Spa, the Michigan Legacy Art Park, and IACC-approved conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Mountain Hotel Thompsonville
Crystal Mountain Resort And Spa
Crystal Mountain Michigan Lodging

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.