We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great destination no matter the season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crawford Lake Conservation Area

Crawford Lake Conservation Area
3115 Conservation, Campbellville, Milton, Ontario L9T 2X3, Canada
+1 905-854-0234
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Port Dover, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A great destination no matter the season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Winter, spring, summer or fall ... yes, I've visited this place so many times at different times of the year. And each season is a unique experience. For those who love the outdoors, Crawford Lake is a must. If you're an avid hiker, CL has 11 kms of trails, all of them loops. There's one linear trail (around 8 kms) that takes you to Rattlesnake Point, another beautiful place. This hike is challenging as you will traverse boulders and roots and the like, as well as some sections are hilly.

By the lake itself is a boardwalk where you can just take your time taking pictures of the rock formations.

Just this past weekend, I went there with a group to do snowshoeing and what a great workout it was. Tons of snow (which has eluded us the last 3-4 years) which made the workout very challenging. But the serenity, the peacefulness of the forest was just amazing. Snow piled up on our tracks, snow heavily laden on the pine trees ... we were lucky to be there at this time and just enjoy ourselves and nature.

Crawford Lake is a popular place for students and youth. It has a lot of outdoor activities and educational opportunities. They've got a reconstructed Iroquoian Village and it's quite interesting to see how people lived eons ago. Last year, they even put on a cornbread making event, and of course, we got to sample them!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places on Earth. So incredibly natural and special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Geologically, Crawford Lake, in Campbellville, which is technically in Milton, Ontario, not Kitchener as listed here, is a meromictic lake (pardon spelling) which means it is very small and very deep - 90' - which means there is no turnover of water in the lower layers. What falls in, including corn pollen, stays perfectly preserved...which is how they found the Indian Village they've rebuilt. There are many special species of plants here and the paths and boardwalks are easy to navigate. You can even walk to the Nassagawaya Canyon which is stunning and few know it's there. It's managed by Conservation Halton so is kept very natural.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable afternoon with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited Crawford Lake in July 2012...it was recommended to us by a friend. What an interesting place...with the reconstructed Native American village giving us an insight into life in North America many hundreds of years ago. The walk around the lake is interesting and has many informative notice boards etc. We saw quite a bit of wildlife as we walked around the lake...a very peaceful place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Really interesting day trip for the whole family. Nice, easy walking trails, a bit of history and a unique area

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An exciting step into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I took my students to the site. It was exceptionally well thought out. Lots of hands-on artifacts, activities and exhibits to peruse. The games were entertaining and the interpretive component engaging.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crawford Lake Conservation Area also viewed

 

Been to Crawford Lake Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawford Lake Conservation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.