We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Country Grill and Pub

North Country Grill and Pub
420 Saint Josephs Ave, Suttons Bay, MI 49682 (Formerly Boones North Country Pub and Grille)
+1 231-271-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Hand cut prime rib, freshest seafood available. Large out door patio and bar. Key West outdoor seating available in the summer months. Cozy fireplace in the winter. Finest Leelanau wine list. We do not take reservations due to our small seating capacity.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

They have great sandwiches and perch - more of a casual place that is always full. For me, I always order the perch sandwich and a bloody mary.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant with outside dining in the garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had the best perch dinner ever as well as crab cakes for an appetizer. Service is exceptional and the wine list is great. I tend not to drink Michigan wines and they had good variety of other wines available by glass and bottle. Also, they don't take reservations, but if you call them and tell them that you will be there at a certain time, they really try to accommodate you. We only waited five minutes. This is great seeing that the place is always packed.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Not the water views, but no one has better food than this place -- really! Very charming and warm atmosphere -- NOT stuffy! These people know how to make and present food but also how to have fun doing it. Try sitting in the outdoor bar/cafe, it's great!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cozy atmosphere and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My Fiance and I were staying in Sutton's Bay over Easter and decide to try North Country from the reviews. We were not disappointed.
The smell of the wood burning fireplace greets you at the door and invites you in. We found the waitstaff to be personable and accommodating. After a full day of hiking around Lake Michigan we were famished and ordered a ton of food. With no regrets it was all delicious!!! I started with the lobster chowder and he had the Oysters. Both were top quality, the chowder had large chunks of lobster. Next, the dinner salad with their yummy homemade White Balsamic Vinaigrette. The greens and veggies were very fresh and crisp, topped with scrumptious croutons. We both ordered North Country's specialty, the Prime Rib and Lobster. All I can say is WOW!!!! The Prime rib will not disappoint. It was a perfectly prepared, thick cut of tender Prime Rib. Not to mention it was very flavorful. The sweet lobster was serviced with drawn butter, absolutely divine.
The next day we enjoyed our leftovers for lunch. Even after that we looked forward to having our last dinner in Suttons Bay there that night. Yup, we ate their two nights in a row!!
If you're in the area do yourself a favor and enjoy an evening at the North Country Grill.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing service! yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and i were visiting sutton bay for the night. We decided to try out north country grill and pub after reading the amazing reviews here on tripfinder. We absolutely loved the homey pub feel when you first walk in. After being seated and introduced to our waitress Kay. We were then suprised to learn that they had an early bird special. The special allowed us to try some of their amazing entrees in a smaller portion and an amazing price. Only 13.95 a meal from 4-6 pm every day. Our waitress Kay was not only outstanding in her tableside service. She was also very helpful with suggestions on different attractions in the grand traverse bay area. We will definately be back in the future for the perch early bird special and some of that acoustics cherry mead!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Country Grill and Pub also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to North Country Grill and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Country Grill and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.