We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden diamond! Check it out--you won't be disappointed!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hearth and Vine

Hearth and Vine
10844 E. Revold Rd, Suttons Bay, MI 49682
+1 231-944-1297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A hidden diamond! Check it out--you won't be disappointed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I love, love, love this place--it has incredible libations (the distillery on the premises opens at the end of June) and their wines are amazing. I love to have and savor either one of their fine gourmet options (albeit pizza, sandwiches or desserts)--all are amazing. I love their wines pared with some of their food choices as well--sip a fine wine and savor a gourmet menu option--sounds just too perfect--amongst a picturesque setting. Truly a gem in the Leelanau county crown! Check this out. I live locally and visit here many times of year. I love this place!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was really excited to pick up lunch here on our way through town but was disappointed at how average it was. At first glance the menu seems great and the location is beautiful but that's where the wow factor stops. The food itself was not as flavorful as expected and the service was not so great either. Might return but only out of convenience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Casual, laid back, great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Visited Black Star Farms on a day trip while camping in Sleeping Bear Dunes. It's quite a set-up.

Got some excellent cheese in the cheese store (made on site), some lovely wine in the winery, admired the horses and the beautiful terraced vineyard, and then had a very nice lunch in the Hearth and Vine Cafe.

Two of us had great wood oven pizzas, and our friend had the quiche, which she described as the best she's ever had. The place is not fancy, and the service was casual, but it was well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1st and last!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were excited to try this restaurant as it was recommended in the Leland Website as one of a famous chefs (who wears orange crocodiles clogs) favorite places.
Perhaps we caught it on a off night. We arrived at about 6pm and there was perhaps two other tables. We ordered the hummus and chips and the yukon gold pizza a glass of cider and wine. The pour size on the cider was on the cheap side. The pizza arrived and it was not crispy on the bottom and had black burnt semolina flour from not cleaning the pizza oven before cooking the pizza. Potatoes on the pizza were only just cooked and had still a slight crunch to them. We were offered no water and the hostess / server seemed more interested in clearing up than paying attention to guests. The hummus arrived after about 5 minutes from us getting the pizza, with the words " sorry almost forgot about that". I found this poor when we were practically the only ones in the place. At about 6.45pm the hostess / server got the mop out and started to mop the floor around where we were seated. This I found to be a clear message that she wanted us to leave, which we duly did. The price was also on the expensive side for what we got. I would not recommend eating here. Places I would recommend spending your money in the area would be, Marthas in Suttons Bay and The Cove in Leland, where you get a decent pint size of the excellent local Tandem Cider for the same cost.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment this year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Visited Hearth and Vine last year...memorable experience so it was a must this year on our trip to Traverse City. Just left and was so very disappointed. The food and service was nothing compared to that of last year. After inquiring, we learned that there are new owners of the restaurant business and the owner from last year is opening a new restaurant in Lake Leelanau. We will definitely check it out and unfortunately won't be returning to Hearth and Vine again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearth and Vine also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Hearth and Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hearth and Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.