We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Tasting at Black Star Farms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Star Farms

Black Star Farms
10844 East Revold Road, Suttons Bay, MI 49682
231-944-1270
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 attractions in Suttons Bay
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Unique agricultural destinations that feature two winery production facilities with adjacent tasting rooms and a distillery. Our winery and distillery produce some of the most sought after and awarded Michigan wines and spirits. To try our wines, visit any of our three tasting rooms on the Leelanau Peninsula, Old Mission Peninsula and TASTES of Black Star Farms in the Village at Grand Traverse Commons in Traverse City or order online.
Owosso, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wine Tasting at Black Star Farms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The setting at Black Star Farms is beautiful and they do have a lot of different wines. However, they charge $5 for the wine tasting and give you such a small amount its almost impossible to taste the wine. Our server had no idea about the wines. We asked for suggestions and all she could do was hand us a copy of the available wines. We got there at 4:10 and they close at 5:00. She told us due to the late hour it would be best if we shared a tasting. So we got a thimble full of wine for 2 people to try. I looked around and no one else was sharing. We bought 2 bottles of wine and the check out girl said "thats all?", as if we should have bought more. I would think if you bought wine they could deduct the wine tasting fee from your purchase. Would not recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackstarfarms, Public Relations Manager at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your visit to our farm. We appreciate your review and apologize for the negative experience at Black Star Farms. Your comments are important to us and we have addressed the issue noted above with our tasting room staff. We hope that in a future visit you will be able to sample a broader range of our wines. We also apologize for not being able to refund the wine tasting fee from your purchase. We understand that other wineries on the trail may do so; however it is illegal in our state.

Regards,
Coryn Briggs
Director of Marketing
Black Star Farms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    17
    10
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sgirlie
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Blackstar farms was the best winery I went to in the TC area last week. Loved their reds and the late harvest Riesling. The woman doing the pouring knew her stuff. So why only 3 stars? They charged for the tastings, which were so small it was actually hard to taste, and did not roll the tasting fee into the cost of the $25.00 bottle that I bought. Every winery I've ever been to does that, and I was disappointed that they didn't. It's just nickel and dimeing...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackstarfarms, Public Relations Manager at Black Star Farms, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello,

We appreciate your review and visit to our winery in the Traverse City area and are pleased to hear that you found wines you enjoyed. Our tasting fee includes a souvenir glass and 5 samples of wine. Samples are typically 1 oz each and are designed to provide a taste and not much more as we comply with responsible consumption. It is illegal to subtract the tasting fee from a purchase and we are therfore unable to provide this to our customers. We apologize for any confusion and understand that other wineries may act differently.

Regards,
Coryn Briggs
Director of Marketing at Black Star Farms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheese at Black”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Seems all now charge for wine samples...if you have been here before, bring your glass and save some $...their Leelanau cheeses are to die for....get the mild and the aged...worth the money and the taste will stay with your cheese until you get home

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't forget the cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great winery and beautiful setting and grounds. Worth the trip just to see it. The best part is the separate cheese business next to the winery......the cheese spread is to die for!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely winery with delicious wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Suttons Bay and loved the ambiance. The vineyards are so pretty! Tasting is $5 for 5 wines of your choice and you get a souvenir glass. My personal favorite was the Late Harvest Reisling (if you like sweeter wines). Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Star Farms also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Black Star Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Star Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Star Farms to your Saves list