We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot, perfect everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Leelanau Table

Martha's Leelanau Table
413 North St. Joseph Street, Suttons Bay, MI 49682
+1 231-271-2344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Martha's leelanau Table is a European Style bistro serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a unique century old farmhouse in a small town on the Leelanau Peninsula in the little finger of the lower peninsula of Michigan. We specialize in local food and wine from the family run wineries and farms in Leelanau County and the surrounding areas of Northern Michigan.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, perfect everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Absolutely loved it here. We sat on the the patio on a quiet evening and had a really enjoyable meal. The service was wonderful, genuinely kind and attentive and we received great recommendations on our choices. Must try the salsa baked fresh goat cheese with pecans. It was fantastic. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    43
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy Tummy Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived for breafast a little after 10:30 on Sunday, 10/13. There was a small wait so we were able to buy a couple of lattes, which were excellent. Our breakfasts were wonderful - hubby had the farmers omelette and I had the baked eggs topped with cheese - happy tummy great! The service was friendly and fast, the decor very comfortable/nice, too. Overall a great experience. No wonder they're number one in Suttons Bay. Did not have lunch or dinner here, but think they'd be excellent, too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Most of the time when I visit Suttons Bay it's with the full family of 6 in tow and we have avoided Martha's simply because it's a little pricey for a bunch of kids that are just as satisfied with an extra value meal from McDonalds. My wife and I were in the area for some fall colors and alone time, and we decided to eat at Martha's. I have to say the food was fantastic. While sitting at a table next to a framed thank you note from Mario Batali, I had the French Toast with cherry bread and Cherry Pecan sausage, both locally sourced and perfect. My wife had a French style egg dish with spinach, bacon and cheese that was also very good. Service was friendly and spot on, the prices are typical for the area, breakfast for two all in with tip is pushing $40. I would certainly go back again (without kids).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the best meal I have had in up North area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The ambiance was charming, live good music, guitarist/ singer, great whitefish, soup, salad, dessert, & everything was perfect, including "Westie" our server, who was very attentive a& friendly as well as other staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, great staff, food a little dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The place itself is nice and the staff are professional, helpful and pleasant. I had the signature chowder for starter, it was good but good chowder isnt that hard to do. My main was a special, rack of lamb with mash, veg and mustard. The lamb was good, nicely cooked but spoilt by far too much wholegrain mustard. My partner had goats cheese and salsa starter, salsa was far too spicy, the peppers looked suspiciously like jarred jalapenos, all heat rather than the zing of fresh peppers. The goats cheese had little flavour. Her main was a fish pie - basically the chowder with some extra prawns thrown in and a puff pastry square plopped on top, again not bad tasting but unimaginative and easy to make at home.

Don't get me wrong all the food tasted good, but just good like you would be happy to have at home not what I hope for when visiting a restaurant with a reputation

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marthasleelanautable, Owner at Martha's Leelanau Table, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear "nice Place", I am sorry to hear of your disappointing dining experience. It is my goal to exceed my customer's expectations. Obviously I failed to excite your tastebuds. All the food I prepare is made from scratch in my kitchen by me or my sous chef. I hope if you are traveling through suttons bay again, you will stop and give us another taste. Thanks for the thoughtful comments. Sincerely Martha Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Leelanau Table also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Martha's Leelanau Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Leelanau Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.