We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 3rd time is not a Charm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Leelanau Table

Martha's Leelanau Table
413 North St. Joseph Street, Suttons Bay, MI 49682
+1 231-271-2344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Suttons Bay
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Martha's leelanau Table is a European Style bistro serving breakfast, lunch and dinner in a unique century old farmhouse in a small town on the Leelanau Peninsula in the little finger of the lower peninsula of Michigan. We specialize in local food and wine from the family run wineries and farms in Leelanau County and the surrounding areas of Northern Michigan.
chicago,il
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The 3rd time is not a Charm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our third time to Martha's mostly because there aren;t tons of restaurants in Sutton's Bay. The first time we had dinner there it was average, our server was terrible. The second time breakfast was ok but overpriced but at least the server was better. The third time the food was poor and we had the terrible sever again. My husband had some special where dessert was included. His steak was overcooked and dry. My chicken dish was very dry and was supposed to be stuffed with cheese I tasted none. Then dessert came (which the server didn't tell us what it was) she just threw on the table, it had nuts in it, my husband is allergic to them! I love Suttons
Bay but Martha's is off my list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marthasleelanautable, Owner at Martha's Leelanau Table, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear "3rd Time", I am so sorry that your experience at Martha's was a disappointment. I cannot apologize enough for the service. My staff is thoroughly trained and there is no excuse for bad service. I am responsible for all the food coming out of the kitchen. If it did not meet your expectations, I am very sorry. My job is to make sure that everything goes the way I want it to and sometimes that does not happen when I am not here. I will be retraining people in the front and the back to make sure that we don't disappoint another customer. It is a constant challenge in a very competitive market. Again, please accept my apologies. I do hope that you will continue to visit when you are in the area. If you have any specifics that you can share with me about the server and the service, maybe I can pinpoint the problem. so I can make it better. Thank you so much for sharing your review and I hope that you will visit Martha's again and give us the chance to be better next time. Martha Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    43
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Neat atmosphere, cozy. Even a simple
Breakfast sandwich was delicious! Cool old house turned into a great restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful breakfasts and lunches! Locally inspired menu choices and excellent baked goods and pastries. We plan to return to try the dinners on our next visit. Nice outdoor seating area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unique spot for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a wonderful; delicious breakfast. Beautiful small town on the Leelanau Peninsula 15 minutes north of Traverse City. My husband had cherry french toast (remember you are in the cherry capital of the world), and I had their huervos rancheros. Both dishes were EXCELLENT!! Small; intimate restaurant in beautiful colors and local artwork for sale. Our waitress Joy J. was outstanding and very attentive! What a gem of a place in a beautiful spot in Michigan! Won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delightful food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our party of four all had an outstanding experience at Martha's! The waitstaff (Weezie?) was knowledgeable, engaging, and attentive to needs. The food was incredible in taste, presentation, portion size, and use of local foods. Our group always orders different items so we can share and taste more dishes. The rack of lamb, the shrimp and andouie sausage, the scallops, and the crab cakes were great choices! The raclette was ample for all four, and the soup was generous as well. The fall harvest salad was very tasty and large enough for two of us to split. Wine selections were terrific, and the desserts were heavenly. Carrot cake, cream brule, cheesecake each lovely! We had the best table in the place, might not have been quite so great near the door or kitchen that had very bright lights. Overall one of our best experiences and we have eaten at a lot of great places! Be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha's Leelanau Table also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
 

Been to Martha's Leelanau Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Leelanau Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.