We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Everything You Need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn Sturgis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added American Inn Sturgis to your Saves list
American Inn Sturgis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71381 S. Centerville Rd., Sturgis, MI 49091   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sturgis
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Good Value and Everything You Need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stay here frequently. I own my own business and travel throughout the region. The rooms are large and comfortable. Internet access and desk allows me to do work at night. The decor is dated, but the rooms are clean. The manager is very friendly and is available if you need anything. The pool has just been re-done. The bottom line is you can certainly find places more luxurious, but if you're looking for a clean, safe place at a fraction of the cost, you won't find anything to beat it in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
4
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Owners are friendly and accomodating. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good wireless internet included free.

The rate is fantastic. Look, if you want a newly decorated room with an indoor pool, exercise room, and breakfast, then stay next door and pay $99 per night. I'd rather stay here and save $60 per night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

For the second trip needing an overnight stay off of the Indiana Turnpike this summer, we decided to pull in rather than spend 4 more hours on the road and push it to home after a long day of travel. Since I was here with a friend earlier this summer, I recommended this hotel to my husband.

My family was very pleasantly surprised. The value for the room was great. It was easy to plan an overnight stay at the $50 rate by using the internet coupon--we didn't need to show the coupon, just asked for the internet rate. My husband remarked that the room was exceptionally clean, and "smelled really clean". On the front end of our vacation, we stayed in the Pittsburgh area at a Marriott hotel, and this room was cleaner and certainly more easy to unload our suitcases and overnight gear from the car parked directly outside of our door. It cost $90 less a night and was at least twice the size!

Even though the hotel is on a busy road, the room noise was minimal. It was easy to spot off of the freeway.

Let's say we will plan to be back again on our travels to and through the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

This was a one night stay while driving across the country. The motel was close to the highway. We arrived late at night and left early in the morning, so it was "OK". The room was very large and reasonably clean. The shower was not the best, but "OK". There are absolutely no frills-just a bed and shower!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs Ok
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed here for only one night, so I didn't need anything fancy, and it's not fancy, but it is clean and comfortable. This was the largest room we had on this trip, it even has a couch on one side of the room, along with a fridge and microwave. The wireless internet worked pretty good and the outdoor pool looked clean. It is located just off the Indiana Turnpike, but noise was not a problem. I paid $45 thru Priceline and I would say that was a fair price.

  • Liked — Wireless internet
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Inn Sturgis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Sturgis

Address: 71381 S. Centerville Rd., Sturgis, MI 49091
Location: United States > Michigan > St. Joseph County > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sturgis
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn Sturgis 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes to I 80/90 and Shishwana, the American Inn of Sturgis is just a short drive to Pokagon State Park, Western Michigan University, University of Notre Dame, golfing, and more. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, large vehicle parking and pets are welcome with additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your American Inn Sturgis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn Sturgis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.