We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation²” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casart Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casart Game Lodge to your Saves list
Casart Game Lodge
Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22 | Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22, Grietjie Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation²”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 days/nights at the guesthouse last september to finish our visit to South Africa, and we got exactly what we expected: 2 wonderful days of relaxation and enjoyment of the nature and the hosts hospitality. The pool is wonderful, the cook knows what she is doing, and the little night-drive safari was done by a guide who really understood his job (in contrast to the guides in Kruger).
The only small backdraw is the bumpy drive from the main road to the Lodge (which we did during heavy rainfall with a toyota corolla, all in all not such a bad drive as you can see), but hindsight it contributes to the charm of the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
115
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

After 3 weeks of volunteer work I needed some 'private time' to recover from hard work and a lack of luxury, before travelling home. I was picked up at the airport of Phalaborwa and from the very first second it felt like home. I was soaked in warm attention, delicious food, beautiful surroundings and a very comfortable room: what a perfect bush experience and what excellent hosts!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casart, Jan & Sonia Caspers at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Sanne
It was a pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had an exellent stay with us in Casart Game Lodge and that our team did a great job. Hopefully you will again for another enjoyable stay in the bush at Casart Game Lodge.
Kind regards from the bush, Jan & Sonia Caspers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were at the start of a 3 week holiday in SA and Casart was a great "aperitif"!! We arrived quite late but were greeted by Sonia and Jan most warmly and soon installed in a very well appointed luxury rondavel, Mufasa by name. A lovely novelty were the towels made in the shape of small elephants. It was not until the following morning that we were able to fully appreciate the beauty of our surroundings. Our veranda overlooked a small watering hole and through bleary eyes we saw some real Mufasas-right on cue! Breakfast was served on the veranda at no extra cost. After a great shower we made our way to the public areas- comfortable lounge and dining areas and a decked infinity pool area overlooking the waterhole. That afternoon we were able to watch a giraffe drinking whilst we drank in the pool! Quite decadent!

Casart is an oasis in the Bush - you feel very close to the real, natural Africa from well-appointed first world accommodation. It's a great place to unwind and the hosts are never too busy to take care of your needs. The food is based on traditional SA favourites,is well presented and very tasty. If you want game viewing or close to nature experiences then these can be arranged. We were about to spend 12 days in the adjacent Kruger so did not sample. However there was good bird watching from no further away than the pool area!

This is definitely somewhere to return to with absolute confidence of comfortable informality, friendly people, a lovely natural setting and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

What an amazing place!Perfect service, delicious food.I've never seen so hospitable and intelligent hosts like Sonya and Jan.
it was also ability to see elefants from the pool area, who visited waterhole below.
The next time in South Africa we'll exactly visit Casart Game Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to Jan and Sonia, who are the owners of that amazing lodge, everything was exceptionnal. The place is, of course, absolutely fantastic as you can see on the pictures, but the service is even better! As usual, small details always make the difference, and you will be surprised how much effort they put in every details to make your stay just perfect. For example, a welcome drink when you arrive, some great recommandations about activities to do in the area, a private jacuzzi if you stay in on of the two amazing rondavels and typical South african food for dinner. Sonia is usually doing the cooking, and let me say that she is a fantastic cook. She even shared her recipes with us, so we can try it at home. On the last day, they also clean our car (ours was especially dirty), which is really great after a day of two in Kruger Park!

Don't hesitate to book at this incredible place. A piece of paradise...

Room Tip: If you are two guests, book one of the two Rondavels. Amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casart, Jan & Sonia Caspers at Casart Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Mathieu, Bonjour Mathieu,
Thank you very much for you kind and positive review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much at Casart Game lodge about the food, the place , the service. You called it; amazing !! Thank you so much. We hope to see you again. Kind regards from the bush, Jan & Sonia Caspers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nach fast drei Wochen Südafrika kamen wir bei Jan und Sonia nördlich des Kruger Nationalparks im Gretje Reserve an. The landscape was really beauti- and peaceful. You can stay in Casart Lodge in between the bush without loosing your demand of luxury. The atmosphere is cordially an the dutch-belgian host couple gave us a very warm welcome. Accommodating only eight guests the casart lodge provide really privacy. Having dinner was an all day big surprise....you have to find it out. ;-)
We can recommend this lodge truly. Especially the jacuzzi in front of the chalets, the hosts, the dinner and the maintenance of the ranger were awesome. Thanks a lot sonia and jan. warm regards from the really freezing and white Germany Sina and Johannes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This the beste place, up till now, were we stayed. The ronddavel with the jacuzzie is great. Good bed, big shower and clean! And a lovely aircon.
The food is superb! And the hosts Sonia and Jan are great. And they all do this in Grietjie, in the bush. My comppliments!
We stayed here for 4 nights and this was even too short!. Looking at the elephants at the waterhole and the other animals in Grietjie. And it is close to Phalaborwa gate to have drive trought the Kruger park.

If you drive slowy, it will be no problem to drive up to Casart Game lodge.

We for sure come back again!. Thanks guys for the great stay we had at your place.

Room Tip: Take a rondavel with a jacuzzie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casart Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casart Game Lodge

Address: Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22 | Grietjie Nature Reserve, 22, Grietjie Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Grietjie Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grietjie Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casart Game Lodge is situated in a private nature resrve, Grietjie, who has a open connection with National Kruger park. Grietjie is big 5 area. U can stay in a rondavel with own Jacuzzi. The African - European kitchen will spoil you and the " real African" experience will wait for you during the game drive or Bush walk. We like to show you a warm Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casart Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casart Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.