We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not waste your time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gator Jakes

Gator Jakes
36863 Van Dyke Ave, Sterling Heights, MI 48312-2771
(586) 983-3700
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Metro Detroit
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stopped in a week ago when in town for one of the Big 3. Average food and stuck up servers and bartenders.

When your phone and purse/smoke is more important the your customers...it is best you stop acting like bartending is a "career".

If you are not a regular here...they do not care.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“super busy place......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

lively popular bar with lots of young & pretty servers--we had shannon as our bartender--she
has been here for 8 years & adorable--food & drinks were reasonable & good--there are lots
of coupons floating around for this place besides--everyone looks like they are having a great
time here.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A little too loud but it was Sunday Football. A lot of TVs for watching whatever sporting event you want to watch. I had the Jambalaya and my husband had a pasta dish both were very tasty and ample is portion size. They also had decent bar specials going on too. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Average sports bar food and a good time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A friend of mine and I stopped by after work one day for some drinks and dinner. When you walk in you see multiple flat screen TV's hanging from the ceiling with various sports and Keeno being displayed. There is an oval shaped bar right in the middle of the place with seating positioned all around it. There are booths and table all along the outside wall. All of the waitresses are very attractive and friendly. I had planned on ordering chicken wings, but was disappointed with their wing sauce choices. Instead, I ordered the chicken fajitas. The fajitas were good and the red skin potatoes were really good. My friend had the tuna, which looked really good. They have a wide liquor and beer selection for your choosing. Customers were dressed from shorts all the way up to dress pants and golf shirts. It was not too loud in their for a Monday night, but we left just as the NFL game was coming on. This is your average sports bar scene with a typical sports bar menu. I will say that their menu has some nice fish choices and good variety as well. I will return soon one day and try something else from the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Too noisey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had two very good meals. One was fish and chips and the other,chicken strips. Comes with veggie and soup or salad. The salad was quite large. I couldn't even finish the chicken, there was so much to eat. Had to get a doggy bag. Good wait staff, but we couldn't hear each other talk. The music was waaay to loud. Other than that, nice place, very large. Will visit again. Close to home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gator Jakes also viewed

Sterling Heights, MI
 
Sterling Heights, MI
Sterling Heights, MI
 

Been to Gator Jakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gator Jakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.