We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned chicken dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iva's Chicken Dinners

Iva's Chicken Dinners
201 Chestnut St, Box 16, Sterling, MI 48659-9560
989-654-3552
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned chicken dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We visited Iva's for dinner the other evening. Iva's is a historic dining establishment that still looks as it did over 40 years ago. Still ran by the same family but a few generations down now. We both had the Southern Fried chicken plate which was a very generous portion for an adult. You can also have it served family style for not much more with refills on all items. The chicken was fried perfectly with a thin southern style coating and was not greasy at all. Homemade potatoes and their famous biscuits and honey. They also serve you a soup or juice, small vegetable tray, and coleslaw with their house sweet and sour dressing. They also have a bar service and we each had a cocktail. Pricing for drinks was reasonable unlike some of the chains that price their drinks as high as some of their meals! They also have take outs and I was surprised at how many were going out the door. The dining room is divided into a few but they are quite roomy and quiet being about half full on a week night. Very nice if you are trying to have a conversation with family and friends. We plan on returning again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stopped by Iva's for an afternoon lunch, and was really happy we did. The chicken tasted like the pan fried chicken I had growing up, and very tender. The coleslaw is a one of a kind and is really worth trying. They have a family style all you can eat, or a luncheon plate meal if you want a nice meal. The place has never been updated, but that gives it the old time dining atmosphere. We were glad we stopped and will be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Closed until March 6th. 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Wish we had known it was seasonally closed as we drove back out of our way to go here to eat, the rating is based on the fact there's nothing letting you know it's not currently open but we will give a full fledged review some time later this year during the open season

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brought the entire family, aunts, uncles and cousins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Had a great meal and great drinks! 22 of us and The food was fantastic. This is a must do every year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Better than Frankenmuth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited for Thursday dinner and had an excellent meal. They serve both Southern Fried chicken and stewed chicken. We tried both and both were juicy and flavorful. The homemade mashed potatoes and gravy and dressing were very, very good. I tried rhubarb sauce, which was good, but a bit sweeter than I prefer. The coconut cream pie is excellent as well. They serve food for those who don't want chicken, such as steak and seafood, and have a full bar. We will certainly return and recommend making the stop off I-75 to try Iva's.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iva's Chicken Dinners also viewed

 

Been to Iva's Chicken Dinners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iva's Chicken Dinners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.