We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought the entire family, aunts, uncles and cousins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iva's Chicken Dinners

Iva's Chicken Dinners
201 Chestnut St, Box 16, Sterling, MI 48659-9560
989-654-3552
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Sterling
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Standish, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brought the entire family, aunts, uncles and cousins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Had a great meal and great drinks! 22 of us and The food was fantastic. This is a must do every year!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Better than Frankenmuth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited for Thursday dinner and had an excellent meal. They serve both Southern Fried chicken and stewed chicken. We tried both and both were juicy and flavorful. The homemade mashed potatoes and gravy and dressing were very, very good. I tried rhubarb sauce, which was good, but a bit sweeter than I prefer. The coconut cream pie is excellent as well. They serve food for those who don't want chicken, such as steak and seafood, and have a full bar. We will certainly return and recommend making the stop off I-75 to try Iva's.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Yummy, old-fashioned style fried chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stopped at Iva's on our way up north. We used a Groupon offer and were not disappointed. If you're looking for elegant, white-linen service then, no, this is not the place for you. BUT, if you want delicious, down-home cooking and chicken like your Grandma made, then stop here for great food.

My husband had the chicken luncheon plate and had a taste of everything. I got a great deal by choosing the "you decide" option with two pieces of chicken and two side choices. It was more than enough. They had other, non-chicken choices, which we will try another time, because we are definitely going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmore
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great chicken dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great family style chicken dinner, chicken was excellent good soup, cabbage slaw was the best. Waitress was very nice came back often to see if we needed refills. Got pie to take home and that's homemade and really good. We will go back when we are in area for sure. This place is better than Frankenmuth!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Must Have Food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stopped here on the way from up North via a faded billboard on I-75 South. It is 4 miles off the freeway. It is tucked in this little tiny town called Sterling. Their claim to fame is southern fried chicken in cast iron skillets. I could stop at outstanding but I will fill you in on the details. Dinner is $15.00 a person but that includes soup, biscuits with real butter and honey, relish plate plus choice of potato. It's all fantastic. More than you could ever eat. My husband had that and me and my son for $6.00 had chicken, potatoes and 2 sides, which was way more than enough. Gravy and biscuits where beyond, beyond. Pop is served in mason glasses and they have a full bar. The whole town was there. What a hidden gem. Been there for 70 years. Here is the kicker , we were the last ones in practically and on the way out this guy hands us hot chicken to go for free as they were done serving. Bonus-unbelievable.We bought pie to go, homemade crust and all. Forget Frankenmuth, go to Iva's for the very best fried chicken . I can't say enough about this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iva's Chicken Dinners also viewed

Been to Iva's Chicken Dinners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iva's Chicken Dinners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.