We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can hardly wait to leave” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   940 W Savidge, Spring Lake, MI 49456   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I can hardly wait to leave”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Overpriced. Loud horrible music that is still going on - almost 10pm pool side This isn't the islands in the afternoon. Maid never took room service tray out of the room. Don't stay here. Horrible and expensive for a holiday inn. First 5 nights I had a barking dog across the hall. No apologies from front desk- unacceptable on every and any level

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Bev H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the overall experience you had during your stay and any inconvenience may have caused you. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
49
62
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I thought I was in the tropics or in Florida, when you pull into the parking lot, right away you notice the boats in the marina. We stayed for one night and loved the rooms with the pillow selections and the comfortable beds. Enjoyed a band on the lawn by the tiki-bar in the afternoon while sipping on a good drink. Even for a Saturday night, the hotel seemed quiet and comfortable no crazy people running thru the halls. The next morning enjoyed brunch at Jack's and for the price it was great, fresh and delicious food and good vibe being on the water. will definitely stay again next time in the Grand Haven area. Only regret is not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed here overnight. The location is perfect, just outside all of the major attractions. Everything was within 5-10 minutes. The hotel itself is right on the marina and the restaurant has outdoor seating. The food in the restaurant was just ok. The dish I had was not as described on the menu but it was still good. The service in the restaurant was bad...took 10 minutes to get coffee...another 10 to get cream and at least 10 more to get a sppon to stir it with, which of course, meant it was cold by the time we could drink it. It was a very slow time, andvthere seemed to be plenty of servers....the beds are nice, the room was lovley and otherwise we had no problems. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my 10th year visiting the hotel during Coast Guard week and will return again next year, the hotel has been recently renovated outside and inside and is very clean, It is less than 5 minutes from the Grand Haven area that has nice beaches and a waterfront downtown area for your eating, drinking, and shopping pleasure (less than $7 taxi) The area also includes many lakes and very nice walking and bike trails.It has two large pools, one indoor and one outdoor that are clean and spacious. I would recommend spending a few hours at the end of the day at the Tiki bar where the Bartenders make you feel like they have known you forever. (good drinks) There is a restaurant on site (Jack's) it has entertainment that was also enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had my daughter's rehearsal dinner here because of the view and every place else was booked. We had people from out of state and out of country and wanted them to have a fried perch dinner. We tried the perch a few days before the dinner and it was not acceptable - very little fish and way too much breading. Even after talking to the chef, we didn't feel as though there would be any improvement so we switched to salmon. The night of the dinner the chicken was good as were the appetizers, but the salmon was very dried out and tough. Nobody could eat it. Luckily my daughter married into a wonderful and gracious family and we had fun together so the dinner wasn't a complete flop. But I would not recommend anyone using this hotel's dining facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Our Spring Lake Holiday Inn strives to exceed customer expectations. We take pride in our hotel and restaurant and are sorry that you were disappointed with your dining experience. In regards to our very popular perch dinner- the breading amount is a little subjective and the liking is different for each person. We welcomed the suggestions of many customers and our current perch dish is a happy medium and continues to be one of our top sellers. We gladly accommodate guest requests if you wish to have more or less breading. As far as the Salmon goes, this is unacceptable and it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your dinner. There have been some recent changes in the kitchen and we are committed to constantly improving quality and consistency. We highly suggest that guests express any dissatisfaction while they are here so that we are given the opportunity to correct situations that would make their experiences enjoyable and memorable. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you choose to stay and dine with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

It's just ok for a holiday inn express. Deffinatly stayed in a lot nicer ones. The pools were nice. We enjoyed walking and riding on the path that runs by the hotel. The tiki bar is a nice touch. I probably would not stay here for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your response. Just to clarify- our Holiday Inn is a full service hotel (not an Express)with a waterfront restaurant and recently renovated rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed the new bike path along our hotel and boardwalk. Our tiki bar is great fun in the summer time with music on the deck Wednesday through Sunday. We will keep you posted of our new restaurant, lounge and banquet room renovations scheduled for the end of October 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel has been recently renovated, is very clean, and is convenient to the Grand Haven area including many lakes and state parks. It has two large pools, one indoor and one outdoor as well as a hot tub near the outdoor pool. There is a restaurant on site (Jack's) which was o.k. The hotel is right next to a very nice walking/biking trail. Even with A/C, our room was a bit warm - they are currently renovating the A/C. The front desk said there were not any fans - ask Housekeeping; they provide them :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
It’s nice that you were able to enjoy the new bike trail along the hotel and boardwalk on the Grand River. It is convenient and offers a very scenic ride. We completed our A/C repairs and hope that you will make another trip to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake

Address: 940 W Savidge, Spring Lake, MI 49456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now featuring all smoke free hotel rooms and brand new bedding! Start your day on the banks of the Grand River. Relax and play in the sun at Lake Michigan beaches and spend an amazing night at the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn. Located just 2 miles from Lake Michigan beaches and directly on the Grand River, the Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is your best choice in West Michigan. You ll find the things that are most important to you whether you're here for business or pleasure. Discover the convenience and refreshing experience of the only full service property in the Grand Haven area. Feel your troubles melt away as you relax in our indoor pool or heated outdoor pool. Play a round of 18 at nearby Grand Haven Golf Club. Slip away for a quiet dinner at our award winning restaurant Jack's. Enjoy our nightly happy hour in Jack s Lounge. Sip our signature Rum Runner as you watch the sunset at our outdoor Tiki Bar. Have your morning coffee while strolling along our docks. Traveling on business? Your business is our pleasure. When it's time to get connected, our complimentary WiFi access is waiting for you. Polish that presentation at our business center and we even have the right place for your professional meeting. The Grand Haven Waterfront Holiday Inn is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to the Grand Haven area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake
Holiday Inn Spring Lake
Spring Lake Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Haven - Spring Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.