We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful deck with entertainment!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge

Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge
940 W Savidge St, Spring Lake, MI 49456
(616) 846-1370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Spring Lake
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Grand Haven
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful deck with entertainment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came to sit outdoors and listen to music with dinner. The setting is awesome and we were seated immediately on the day before Fourth of July at 6:30. The entertainment was nice, but the service was lacking. The food is adequate but not great. I ordered the tequila lime chicken and my husband ordered the special whitefish. I asked for extra veggies but the dish was served in the normal way. It was ok, just not great. Dinner salads were very small portions, and being a greens lover, it was disappointing. Wine was served in plastic cups, which is irritating. I understand that it's a deck, but discount the Kendall Jackson if it's in a plastic cup. I mean, a bottle is $12.99 at the local grocery. Additionally, if the glass breaks, it is just as easily vacuumed from a deck as an interior floor.
We will come back for the atmosphere. We are local; but so much could be done to make this gem a diamond.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback on your latest visit. We welcome all customer comments as we strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. It was upsetting to hear you found dinner to be only adequate and not great. I am sorry that you did not find our dinner salad to be of the portion you desired. We do make our dinner salads with fresh spring mix and always the freshest of vegetables. For those of our guests that are green lovers we offer any of the entree salads in a half size portion which are larger than that of the dinner salad. We serve all of our beverages in plastic glasses on the deck to ensure the safety of our guests. We have found that glasses tend to be broken more frequently on the deck rather than in the dining room, prompting us to switch to plastic. That being said, we are happy to honor any reasonable requests from our guests. Simply inform your server that you prefer your wine in a glass. We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Respectfully Yours,

Lacey Cole
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norton Shores, Michigan, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tried, tried again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have tried Jack's time and again and always enter with high hopes and leave disappointed. After the last menu change, we hoped that, once more, a nice looking restaurant on the waterfront would have a flavor that matched the description.

We tried a couple of pasta dishes and were disappointed with blandness (pasta did not taste fresh), presentation (plate was a disaster of mess and spills), and expense.

We have tried Jack's 4 times in the last 4 years and we will not give it another chance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Guest Relations Manager at Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your experience in the restaurant.

We forwarded your comment on the pasta to our Executive Chef and we discovered that there was an issue with one of our new pasta dishes. The problem has now been fixed and we believe that our new summer menu is the best yet! I’d love the opportunity to speak with you personally on this matter if you could contact me directly at jandrus@higrandhaven.com or by calling the hotel and asking for me.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Andrus
Revenue Manager / Guest Services Manager
Spring Lake Holiday Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not average anymore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We used to go here in previous summers because of its location on the water and the food was average. We just took our first harley ride there this year and were surprised how good the food was. The salmon appetizer was great, big enough for 2. We had spinach ravioli in rich Alfredo sauce and perch for dinner, both excellent, along with $2 dinner salads which had very good dressings. They have remodeled and painted so it looks newer inside. Outside, the boats and people watching is still entertaining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnGHSL, Manager at Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. Our team had been working very hard to ensure our guests receive the best dining experience. It is so wonderful to hear that you have had just that. The ravioli’s happen to me one of my personal favorites! We look forward to your return and thank you for being a valued customer.


Warm Regards,
Lacey Cole
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pass on breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Have held several once a month breakfast meetings at Jacks only to be disappointed many times. Scrambled eggs with a burnt brown crust, omelets the same, poor service just can't bring myself back for breakfast!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Renovations to Bar are Classy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Some friends and I come to Jack's often on Thursday nights for free live comedy. It's a fun atmosphere and sometimes there are really great comics. Not all of them are great, but when there is no cover charge, you can't really complain. The new renovations to the bar area are very pleasing to the eye. Drink prices are average, would love to see some better specials. I've had burgers and club sandwiches and they have always been delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Spring Lake, Ottawa County
Spring Lake, Ottawa County
 
Spring Lake, Ottawa County
Spring Lake, Ottawa County
 

Been to Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack's Waterfront Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.