We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I’ve stayed at this hotel multiple times during the years and I always have an excellent stay. I recently stayed this past week to attend a conference, and from the moment I arrived at the hotel everyone was happy to see you and willing to help.

When I walked in the front door of the property the front desk instantly acknowledged my arrival and welcomed me to the property. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I walked down to the lounge that night before heading off to bed and Mike in the lounge was great!

Breakfast was outstanding. Fresh hot food waiting for me on the buffet and Rebecca was great.
After I left my conference and was about two hours away, I realized I had forgotten a folder of work documents at the hotel. I called the hotel and Alexis was able to find my paperwork and I asked her to mail it to me (this was the only copy of the very important paperwork that I had). The next day the paperwork arrived at my office FedEx next day service. I was so shocked and so grateful for her service and help. GREAT JOB ALEXIS!!!

The entire staff at this hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank You Mark, for your resent stay at the Holiday Inn Southgate. Your comments were greatly appreated. We very much pride oursleves on giving world class service to all of our guest. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. We truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    18
    8
    12
See reviews for
33
12
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Katie and Alexis made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing. They went out of their way to help us out of towners out find some good spots to eat and relax.

The rooms are bright, clean and well maintained. The stuff is very cheerful and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel and the front deask staff. We really appreciate your business. We look forward to see you again when your in the Southgate area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The room had the bonus of a coffee maker, fridge, and microwave, which is why I generally stay at a Holiday Inn while traveling. There is a bar/lounge and a restaurant off the hotel lobby. I had a good hot buffet breakfast each morning. The wait staff were friendly and prompt. The hotel has a very large pool, small hot tub, and an exercise room, which I didn't have the time to use on this trip. Check in and check out were very efficient and timely. The staff throughout the hotel were friendly, courteous and professional.

My only complaints would be the lack of attention to detail. The wall paper was peeling above the door in the bathroom. When I took a shower, the water came out of the bathtub spout and the shower head at the same time. Even though I had the lever all the way over to "shower," water continued to come out of the bathtub faucet also. There were no plugs to be utilized at the bedside. I had to charge my phone and other devices at the desk across the room. Also, I was awakened several times by the sound of the furnace turning on in the night, even though I sleep with ear plugs. The room temperature was never consistently even. Some areas of the room, like near the window and the desk were cold, while it was warm near the bed and bathroom. I was in room 288 and could hear the expressway traffic as I worked at the desk. This also provided me with a view of the parking lot and the expressway. I would recommend an odd numbered room to place you more on the interior of the building and away from the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room to place you on the interior of the building away from expressway traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thnak you for your feedback and your business. WE take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodtions. We are sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We hope you give us a chance in the furture to show how great are hotel is. We will be remodling very soon. Thanks again for feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recentley stayed again at this hotel, one of my favorites. The staff is above and beyond expectations, speedy check in and out, taxi arraingments, room upgrades etc. They were well versed to the community with excellent directions to air port , resturaunts etc. The public areas pool, hot tub, lobby, halls were in good condition. I received a free upgrade to a Jucuzzi room and it felt wonderful, Returaunt was a 10 for dinners and breakfast buffet. Definitley on my "A" list

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wayyyyyyyyyyyyy overpriced! The clarion in Romulus is a lot cheaper with great rooms! But we were okay until a bunch of kids checked in for some tournament and all they did was run and play up and down the hallways ALL night. Our calls to the front desk did no good because it never stopped, so we checked out early and went to the clarion! I will never stay here again!

Room Tip: None! I hate the fact that my calls to the front desk did no good! Because those kids ran all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Lalanicole,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry about the noise during your stay. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this property for an overnight and the service was excellent. They were very accommodating and helped us in making for a pleasant stay. All staff is extremely friendlyl and eager to please. Our room was fine and just in need of some freshening up in the bathroom and decor. Breakfast had a nice variety and the biscuits were yummy. Thank you for a nice visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had stayed at this hotel with some business associates as part of a group meeting at a local company last September (2012). So when I had to return to the area for meetings in Dearborn and Ecorse, this hotel was close to both places. To summarize:

The staff at check-in was the most friendly and efficient at any hotel I've experienced. You can't even get in the door (automatic door, nice, when you have bags), and they are greeting you. Recognize Priority Club status right away, nice.

Coffee in the lobby by the fireplace, nice.

Business center in the lobby with 2 computers, nice.

Free bottle of water at check-in, nice.... recently Bill O'Reilly ranted about hotel charges for water!

Housekeeping had very good manners, nice.

Room was clean, bed comfortable, and had a choice of pillows!


Managers Reception in the lobby, now that was nice.

Charlie's Chop House restaurant, pretty good. Free Buffet Breakfast, nice.

Certainly no complaints here, and I'll stay here again. For several years I have stayed elsewhere when visiting Detroit (never downtown), but this is now a first choice.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty big, my room was pretty far away from the lobby, so that was my exercise program...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center

Address: 17201 Northline Rd., Southgate, MI 48195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is the place to be for business or pleasure. Luxurious, spacious, clean & comfortable rooms await you in the downriver Detroit area. You will be treated like royalty with friendly, hospitable service. The Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is the place to be and be seen. Your hotel features Downriver's largest indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, award winning & outstanding restaurant - Charlie s Chophouse - and lounge - Club Charlie s - with live entertainment on weekends. Our luxurious & elegantly decorated ballrooms accommodate 10-700 people. With over 35 years of combined experience, we welcome you to see for yourself why the Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is second to none. The Holiday Inn Southgate Banquet & Conference Center is nestled in a beautiful, safe and comfortable suburban community, conveniently located off interstate I-75 exit 37 and Northline Road. Just 15 minutes from the heart of downtown Detroit, Detroit Metropolitan Airport 9 miles, Greenfield Village, Henry Ford Museum & Ford Rouge Tour 9 miles, MGM Casino, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Casino Windsor, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers) Ford Field, DIA Detroit Institute of Arts, Fox Theater, Joe Louis Arena, Cobo Hall, and so much more! Customer service is our top priority. Smiling & friendly faces await your next trip to the Detroit area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Hotel Southgate
Southgate Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.