We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff but food just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Chop House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charlie's Chop House
17201 Northline Rd, Southgate, MI 48195-2336
(734) 283-4400
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 89 Restaurants in Southgate
Restaurant details
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff but food just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Ate dinner here two nights in a row while on business in the area. Each night I had the salad and soup bar that was not that bad. The first night I had a steak and it was tough and not very flavorful. The second night I had the philly cheesesteak and it was very over cooked and did not have very much cheese on it at all. The staff was vey friendly and helpful. The restaurant was clean. It would be a a great little restaurant at the hotel if they just put a little more attention into the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I arrived at the hotel tired - to be honest i was too lazy to find a restaurant. So i decided to eat at the hotel. I was greeted by a very cheerful host. My waiter was Josh. Josh was a very nice young man who was very enthusiastic about his job - and very passionate about his recent wine class. We had a lovely discussion about wine. josh's service was awesome - thank you! The host ? or manager dont know and i forgot to ask her name - sorry - came over and we discussed what new wines they were getting in. All staff appeared to like their job. The food was good. I had the steak and asked for medium rare and i GOT medium rare - the scalloped potatoes were to die for - all around a great job for dinner. I also had the breakfast buffet. Typical breakfast buffet - tasty but luke warm - although i didnt starve!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What an enjoyable meal we had in this restaurant , the price was what we expected to pay in a Hotel restaurant , little higher than average , but well worth it , the salad and soup starter from a buffet table was so good , all cooked on site from scratch I think , as much as we wanted to have , and then our main course served at the table by such a pleasant genuine waiter called Josh ,who was eager to please without being there every second bothering us , I had a pasta dish served with fresh prawns in a very tasty sauce , and my husband had a very large portion of a Chicken Cordon Bleu , served with potatoes and fresh veg. really this was an excellent meal and service , well done to all the staff in this place , we were only there in Michigan for one night so we didnt have the chance to go again , but if I ever get back there I will certainly go and enjoy another meal at Charlies Chop House at the Holiday Inn.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Can You Say Healthy Entree? Not!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I didn't want to go off property for dinner, but wished I had. Service was annoying, kept asking me what "we" had decided and I was by myself. Nothing healthy on the menu, it was either fried or breaded and fried. Salad bar was sad. Wilted iceberg lettuce, limited selection of add-ons, no soup bowls or spoons for the soup. Food was mediocre at best.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The appetizers were the best. 5-7 happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The managers toast was nice with some appetizers once a week. The swimming Pool was huge and hot tub was so nice after a long day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.