We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Save” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
Fort Wayne, IN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Way to Save”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you don't care about things looking new, this place is great way to save money. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is decent. The fridge and microwave worked well. This place sits near 75, and it is only 15 miles from downtown Detriot. The staff was SUPER friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
54
29
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My review from August still stands (desperately needs makeover), however, I'm back again. After researching nearby hotels, I decided to return to La Quinta, Southgate. You really can't beat the price. Staff is still very helpful and even if you don't eat the free breakfast, you can bring some of your own food and get a room with a fridge and microwave and you still have a bargain. There is a Wendy's within walking distance also. For the price and free breakfast (not the best offerings, but it's free), I don't think you can go wrong.
It is near railroad tracks. but I never heard the train overnight. It seems their schedule stops in the overnight hours. Also, convenient to I-75, Sam's Club, Southland Mall, etc.
Now, if only they could put some money into this place and update.......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My 85 year old mother was stranded here when my sister, who was driving her to Texas, suddenly had to go in to the hospital. The staff, especially Wendy :), were incredible. They moved my mother to the ground floor, helped her to use the phone, as she is deaf, made sure that she was taken care of, that she access to food, etc. until another family member could arrive. I had many phone conversations with the hotel and they were patient, helpful and incredibly kind to my mother. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Would recommend this place. Very clean and nice for the money. Great value.We paid $55 a night. I have stayed at Motel 6's and other for more money that were no where near as nice as this place. Very near several food choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I hotwired this hotel at the last minute and was a bit disappointed on the "deal" that I got for the cost. Nothing major wrong but it just didn't seem to be the 2.5 star 90% that was promised. My major complaint that the curtain in the bedroom does not completely cover the window. I had to use the desk lamp and try to stretch the fabric the rest of the way across the window. Breakfast was very sparse at best. I am just a bit disappointed in the value for what I paid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.