We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    51
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
32
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My review from August still stands (desperately needs makeover), however, I'm back again. After researching nearby hotels, I decided to return to La Quinta, Southgate. You really can't beat the price. Staff is still very helpful and even if you don't eat the free breakfast, you can bring some of your own food and get a room with a fridge and microwave and you still have a bargain. There is a Wendy's within walking distance also. For the price and free breakfast (not the best offerings, but it's free), I don't think you can go wrong.
It is near railroad tracks. but I never heard the train overnight. It seems their schedule stops in the overnight hours. Also, convenient to I-75, Sam's Club, Southland Mall, etc.
Now, if only they could put some money into this place and update.......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My 85 year old mother was stranded here when my sister, who was driving her to Texas, suddenly had to go in to the hospital. The staff, especially Wendy :), were incredible. They moved my mother to the ground floor, helped her to use the phone, as she is deaf, made sure that she was taken care of, that she access to food, etc. until another family member could arrive. I had many phone conversations with the hotel and they were patient, helpful and incredibly kind to my mother. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Would recommend this place. Very clean and nice for the money. Great value.We paid $55 a night. I have stayed at Motel 6's and other for more money that were no where near as nice as this place. Very near several food choices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I hotwired this hotel at the last minute and was a bit disappointed on the "deal" that I got for the cost. Nothing major wrong but it just didn't seem to be the 2.5 star 90% that was promised. My major complaint that the curtain in the bedroom does not completely cover the window. I had to use the desk lamp and try to stretch the fabric the rest of the way across the window. Breakfast was very sparse at best. I am just a bit disappointed in the value for what I paid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Back again a year later and nothing has changed. That is mostly not a bad thing. The rate is so reasonable. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast was good with quite a lot of choice. All the staff that I met were very friendly and helpful. The towels were still rather thin but the water was hot and there was good pressure. The check-in had to be the fastest I've ever experienced.

The construction on the road outside and in the parking lot was going on a year ago as I recall and still is. This time we went out to the car to find a backhoe digging up pavement within feet of our vehicle. Might have been nice to have some warning to park somewhere out if the way. It was very difficult to find our way back to the highway because construction blocked the logical route. Again, a warning and some directions might have been nice as we left the hotel.

All in all, this hotel does a lot right and does it at a really reasonable rate. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate

Address: 12888 Reeck Rd, Southgate, MI 48195
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southgate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Southgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate Hotel Southgate
La Quinta Southgate
Southgate La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.