We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay, great location in Southfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28100 Franklin Road, Southfield, MI 48034-5514   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Grand Rapids MI, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“pleasant stay, great location in Southfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for a convention in Detroit. The facility was clean, quiet and convenient to restaurants and getting downtown to Ford Field, even with the road detours. Staff was pleasant and friendly, breakfast was busy, but well done, little waiting. Would stay again. rooms show some wear, though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We love hearing from our guests and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

I see you noted that the property was a little dated, we understand and are very happy to say that the hotel will be going through a full renovation coming in the next few months. It's an exciting time at the hotel and the team is anxiously awaiting the details to share with our guests.

We look forward to your next visit while in Metro Detroit.

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    81
    47
    49
    27
See reviews for
101
25
17
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed for three nights,Thursday through Sunday. Our room was very clean and spacious. Everything work! The free happy hour (5pm.-7pm) was a total surprise, yes they offer rock bottom liquors and domestic beer, with some cheese and crackers, but it was FREE people! You don't see that anywhere anymore. Breakfast was more than the usual fare, my only disappointment was that on Saturday and Sunday it didn't open until 7am. and we had to leave at 7 each morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Good day and thank you for kind words and review. It's very gratifying to find our hard work is paid off and hear from our satisfied guests.
Our property thrives on training and customer service and to see it's paying off it awesome.

Thank you again,

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIddleville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel and had read several negative reviews before we got there so I was skeptical. I shouldn't have been! It was excellent. Our room was very clean and we loved the bed...very comfortable! It was very quiet too. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Every where we went in the hotel the staff greeted us, from housekeeping to the dining staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! And I understand they are having a major renovation soon. Am very impressed overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Michael,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased you gave us a chance even after what you saw online. Unfortunately, we cannot control everything that goes onto the internet and when a guest has a challenge our team members are empowered to make it right prior to their departure.

Yes, our property is older, however we thrive on our customer service training to ensure guest satisfaction. We are very excited to say in regards to the property we will beginning a $7m renovation very soon.

Michael, again thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to your next visit.

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. great pool and lovely people. We loved the room, reception, breakfast and pool, Hot tub was bubbly but could have been warmer. Embassy Suites are awesome and Southfield Embassy Suites was up to par plus. Will stay again if in area

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Good Day,

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have our engineering department looking at the hot tub, we do our best to keep it at a suitable temperature and they will figure out what happened.

Should I be of any assistance during your next trip to our area, please feel free to contact me.

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was on a weekend getaway leisure trip and the hotel staff offered us a quiet room away from a wedding party. I felt that gesture was very thoughtful and the room was very quiet. The ice machine on our floor was not functioning, but that was minor and we just went down a floor to get some. The staff was very courteous and the Breakfast was served hot and delicious with various items both cold and hot to choose from. I was very impressed! I would definitely stay at the Embassy Suites again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our team was able to accommodate your requests that ensured a terrific weekend.

I do apologize about the ice machine, our engineering department is on top of it.

We look forward to your return.

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The front desk staff is probably one of the unfriendliest staffs I have dealt with when checking-in. When I arrived for check-in at 3:45pm, they had one person at the front desk. I was second in-line and it took about 5 minutes before the front desk agent was done with the first person. I did not get any kind of "we will be with you in a minute" or no apology for having to wait in-line. All I got was "are you checking-in." Check-in is at 3pm and after finally getting up to the desk to check-in at 3:50pm, I was told my room wasn't ready and it would be about 15 more minutes. I went back 20 minutes later and this time I was third in line. It took almost 15 minutes to make it to the front of the line to check-in. Again, no apology, nothing, just "are you checking-in." As far as the room itself, it is your typical Embassy Suites room. Breakfast was good. Nothing really right around the hotel for restaurants but within a few minutes driving, you have several choices. Checking-in is always one of your first impressions of a hotel and I was 100% not impressed and most likely will look at another hotel for my next trip to Detroit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I am very sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are sorry we let the ball drop. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

If you could please contact me directly, I'd like to follow up with this even further to investigate when you checked in so the specific agent can receive additional training to improve this service.

I can be reached at anytime gail.major2@hilton.com or 248.350.7007.

Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you,

Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A one night stay at this Embassy Suites was not like the usual property I expect. The lobby area looks like it was redone recently. Seems to happen often, I was not recognized as a Hilton Honors Diamond member, nor given any of my member benefits. My room was in poor shape, including a rug in the bedroom, that was covering a hole in the carpet. At least I couldn't see the hole unless I pulled up the rug. Another strange thing was there was only 1 trash can in the entire room and it was in the bedroom. Breakfast was decent and the staff was friendly. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESMGMT, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Good day and thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. As we truly appreciate all of our guests HHonors Diamond members are the elite travelers. I want to sincerely apologize that you were not recognized for your loyalty to Hilton or that you did not receive any of your benefits.

I can assure you the property is going through a number of changes incuding a full renovation that will beginning later this summer.

If you could please reach out to me with your contact information I would like to investigate this further on exactly how your reservation was handled so we can utilize this for a training scenario and correct the challenge.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Gail Major
Director of Sales & Marketing
gail.major2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield

Address: 28100 Franklin Road, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2015*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.